[NOD32 V.Four] Auto-Update Inquiry..

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by hayc59, Mar 6, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,535
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    Where is if any the setting to
    turn off automatic updating?
    thank you :cool:
     
  2. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    Last edited: Mar 6, 2010
  3. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4,723
    Location:
    New York City
    Enter the setup tree.
    Update->Advanced update setup->Update mode->Update file size->
    'Ask before downloading update'.
     
  4. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,535
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    Thankful, thank you :D
    I saw that section but...older versions
    just let the user do 'manual' updates [which i prefer!]
    so looks like either way you have no choice?
     
  5. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    4,723
    Location:
    New York City
    What version are you using? Am I answering the question you are asking?
    Thanks.
     
  6. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,535
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    ah did not see this Silj
    will try that and hopefully have a green Icon when I am done[in taskbar]
    and not a red eyeball....because thats the only item i have included in that
    section :thumb:
     
  7. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,535
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    I found it with both of you dudes expertise
    so I am thankful to you both and you to Silj.:D
     
  8. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    NOD32 phones-home, by default, every 60 minutes, if you have the automatic updates enabled in your scheduler/planner, for power-users, but not recommended, this can be disabled as previously posted to this thread. Let us know if you are good to go, hayc59
     
  9. hayc59

    hayc59 Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Posts:
    2,535
    Location:
    Deep Into Blues Baby..
    I just edited it to 'event' trigger and only when computer
    is turned on....so atleast I have a little control over it
     
  10. siljaline

    siljaline Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
    You can also tweak the scheduled task to have the update between interval to be longer, if you like.

    I don't know how long in a time interval you could push this sort of tweak, play around with. * power user suggestions! *

    Suggest exporting your current settings., so if something goes south on you, things can be easily restored by reimporting your xml file.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.