Nod32 v.4 versus v.5

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by j_ford, Oct 20, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    Hello all,

    My apologies if this is a tired & previously exhausted debate, but I was unable to identify any thread using search, so I am posting. As you may be aware, Nod32 v.4 is priced at several online retailers significantly below v.5. Obviously, they are in the process of shedding an older version, but sometimes those older versions have a lot of mileage left on them. I am assuming that v.4 will continue to be supported by the new defs and I'm thinking it may well have a 1-2 years of life left in it. I'm not aware of any performance value to be gained in current versions, so my question is why NOT buy v.4?

    Can someone advise on the benefits/disadvantages of purchasing multiple licenses of v.4 over v.5?

    Thanks in advance for your response and thoughts!
     
  2. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    If you have a license you can install any version.
     
  3. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    So, you're saying that a v.4 license will transfer to a v.5 installation?
     
  4. rekun

    rekun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    Yes, with Eset you can always use your license for the newest version :)
     
  5. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    Thanks to all!
     
  6. stratoc

    stratoc Guest

    it's the definitions you pay for, you can run any version from the download page of Eset for your region, you can either enter your license details or download the trial. my recently expired license was bought for v3.
     
  7. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    Gotcha! and am I correct in assumption that 3 & 5 license retail packages come with 3 or 5 distinct license keys, each of which can be used as needed on any pc?
     
  8. rekun

    rekun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Posts:
    89
    I am not sure that you recieve 3 or 5 licenses.

    When i buy a 3 user license, i recieve just 1 license, but i can use that license for all 3computers.

    This may be different in other parts of the world.
     
  9. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    Okay, so ESET tracks the number of assignments to the single license, so that the single license is good for 3/5 registrations, depending on the package purchased...
     
  10. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    OKay, one last question about multi-license packs;

    If I buy a 3 license pack and activate a new install on 1 PC, does that also activate & start the clock on the other 2 licenses OR does each license start at activation/installation and run for one year after that date?

    Thanks!
     
  11. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    The entire license pack will expire one year after the purchase date.
     
  12. j_ford

    j_ford Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2011
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Montgomery County, PA
    Thank you Smacky. Actually, it is not after the "purchase date" since Eset has no way of knowing when I purchased it. But, I think you are saying is that the entire 3-pack is activated whenever any installation is activated from the 3 pack, so the clock starts ticking on all 3 at that time... yes?
     
  13. Doodler

    Doodler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Posts:
    219
    In fact. I'm still running v3.695. Every so often I'm tempted to upgrade, but my system runs so smoothly, I figure let well-enough alone.
     
  14. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Yes, correct. I always purchase mine from an online reseller so I was thinking about it in those terms since activation of your account (username/pass) is immediate, but if you're buying store retail copies then the timer will start after the initial activation for all seats on the account.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.