NOD32 Sys Tray icon not showing?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by soulesschild, Sep 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. soulesschild

    soulesschild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    In my task manager processes I see the NOD32 stuff, nod32krn.exe, but i don't see a sys tray icon when i used to have it, why has it disappeared? i can still access it if i use the shortcut in my start menu, NOD32 Control Center
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    HI soulesschild, welcome to Wilders.

    This issue usually relates to a videocard driver.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. soulesschild

    soulesschild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    ah is therea way to fix that ?
     
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    try uninstalling your current drivers and reinstalling teh latest version. what card do u have?
     
  5. soulesschild

    soulesschild Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    i use ATI catalyst 6.8 on an ATI radeon x800XL, which used to show the sys tray icon
     
  6. intwtl

    intwtl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2006
    Posts:
    5
    I had the same problem with my 2nd machine. I checked with Windows Task Manager to check if NOD32 was running and it was.

    In order to show the NOD32 in the taskbar I put nod32kui in the startup folder. So far, so good.

    Any comments on this are greatly appreciated.
     
  7. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    I've been following this thread, hoping for a solution. I've had the same problem since reformatting & reinstalling everything 2 weeks ago.
    Upgraded video card drivers yesterday - no different.
    Had already tried putting the nod32kui in the startup folder & all that achieved was opening the Control Centre on startup, immediately it was minimised again, it disappeared from the system tray.
    I've tweaked the Hide icons properties every-which-way to no avail.
    Nod32 is running in Task Manager & still updating OK, so as a last resort I've created a shortcut to Control Centre on desktop immediately above the system tray.
    Meanwhile, I keep hoping a solution will turn up here :doubt:

    PS I should add that I'm a reseller and have never experienced this problem in all the years I've been installing Nod32 on other computers ... and for that matter, certainly hope I never do :(
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I've only ever seen it a few times, each time related to ATI drivers, never did find a solution.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. MrTimmy

    MrTimmy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Posts:
    6
    Open your registry editor and navigate to the following key:

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run

    See if the following entry exists. If not add it.

    NAME: nod32kui
    TYPE: REG_SZ
    DATA: "C:\Program Files\Eset\nod32kui.exe" /WAITSERVICE
     
  10. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    no MrTimmy ... it's already there ... thx anyway :)
     
  11. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    The strange thing is it was working fine right up till I reformatted & reinstalled everything ... yes, I do have an ATI Radeon, but these are same (and latest available) drivers

    I've uninstalled & reinstalled Nod32 3 times - with a new copy each time. It's got me beat, but it's not the end of the world ... Noddy is still doing as good a job as ever ;)

    3 Cheers for Little Noddy :D
     
  12. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    I dunno personally that show annoys me... :D

    Sorry, have kids so I just couldn't resist.

    -Cov
     
  13. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    hey, I grew up with Noddy ... I love that little fella - yes, I really am THAT old :eek: lol
     
  14. BerserkerPup

    BerserkerPup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    Newbie here - I've got the trial version of NOD32 running with the same missing icon on my laptop, and I'm using an NVIDIA card (and there are no updated drivers available for it).

    At least I now know that the problem isn't confined to just me. :doubt:
     
  15. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    But is your Nod32 still updating OK? Mine does & that's the only reason I'm not freaking out about this problem.
    I guess the thing that really confuses my situation though is that, prior to a clean install of XP, it has worked perfectly for several years on the exact same computer. I hadn't added any new hardware prior to the clean install - my video card is the same one I've had for 18 mths (ATI).
    But I do know, I'm not willing to try another clean install just to see if that fixes it :(
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Sure, but guarantee it won't be the same video driver ;) :D

    And for the record, I really do think Eset need to work in with ATI and to a lesser degree nVidia to resolve this issue once and for all, as we never see other software company icons disappearing, so there must be an adjustment that can be made by both Eset and the vide card software developers.

    Cheers :D
     
  17. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    actually Blackspear, in this case, it was, bec I had the drivers backed up to reinstall. So it's a real mystery :doubt:

    But the videocard is about to be replaced and it won't be another ATI, so it will be interesting to see if my problem is resolved.
    Any recommendations for good video cards (mid-range) gratefully received :)
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well the mystery deepens…


    Indeed.


    GECube are owned by Kingmax, had a brilliant run from them, and good warranty as well.

    Cheers :D
     
  19. BerserkerPup

    BerserkerPup Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    That I'll have to wait and see, because I literally just installed it today. I've got the splash screen enabled just so I know the thing is starting up. ;)

    I've got it paired up with the Comodo FW. I had had EZ Armor, but I wanted to see if this combo had a smaller footprint. I've always heard good things about NOD32.
     
  20. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    thx for that Blackspear .. just researching them now. :D
     
  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Available through the local Kingmax Distributor here in Australia, by the name of BCSY

    Cheers :D
     
  22. sagittarius

    sagittarius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2003
    Posts:
    136
    Location:
    Queensland, Australia
    :cool: thx Blackspear :)
     
  23. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
  24. Robyn

    Robyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,189
    I have never had this with NOD but my laptop has ATI graphics card and just today my NOD tray icon disappeared. I have just re-installed and it is back again and now I am configuring all over again with Blackspear's configs.
     
  25. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    At home we have 3 computers and only my personal has no ATI card/drives
    The other two have NOD32 and everything is fine , Thanks God :thumb:

    I have a client who has this problems sometimes however he has no ATI card/drives :eek: but I can't do anything because his computer is a really big mess anyway :) :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.