NOD32 Splash Screen Bug

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by spaming, Aug 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    When Windows XP is starting up, ESET Smart Security's splash screen now stays open for about 30-60 seconds (during which time my entire system is virtually unresponsive). Sort of like it is waiting for something to timeout. When ESET was loading correctly, the splash screen used to only stay up for about 5-10 seconds. I tried a complete uninstall/reinstall, but no luck. How should I troubleshoot this?


    Specs:
    Win XP x86 SP3, all updates installed.
    Nod Version: 4.0.314.0
    4GB Ram
    No wifi connection
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Most likely the kernel is waiting for network connectivity. This usually happens with wireless connections. I'm not sure if it'd make a difference, but try disabling automatic update tasks just for the purpose of testing it.
     
  3. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    the automatic update is already off
     
  4. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello

    Disabling either the wireless service or workstation service completely removes the boot-time lag for me, though sadly I need to have them running.

    As you're not running wireless, you could try setting Wireless Zero Configuration to disabled - then reboot and see if Nod stops choking things...

    If this doesn't do the trick, try the same with the workstation service.

    HTH

    philby

    services.jpg
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
  5. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    The workstation and wireless zero services doesnt exist on my computer :/
     
  6. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Nothing under services.msc ? o_O

    Are you using XP Home?
    Could be you lack a 'recommended' update - see Sharon's reply to the OP here.

    philby
     
  7. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Yes, im using XP Home SP3.
    There is no update available. XP is up to date
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2009
  8. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Help please
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Disable the splash screen. ESS does a low priority startup scan that shouldn't affect the operation of your computer programs.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2009
  10. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    How to disable the splash screen?
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Click on the tray icon, press f5 for advanced settings, and select user interface. Disable splash screen at startup.
     
  12. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    The problem persists, i've noticed the system responds, the only thing that doesn't works properly it's the internet, i try to connect but it doesn't work, only after the nod32 load
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    What other security programs are you using on your computer?
     
  14. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    No other, i'm using only the NOD.
     
  15. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Please help
     
  16. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,778
    Location:
    Texas
    Do you use other programs that launch on startup of your computer?

    You also mentioned
    What changed on your computer between the time it was loading correctly and now?
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2009
  17. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    i don't remember what i've changed to ESET take so long to start.

    The windows starts with: Nerocheck.exe, egui.exe, Rundll32, dumprep 0 -k, ctfmon.exe.
     
  18. ranjeetmalik

    ranjeetmalik Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    you haven't changed anything with times when your compters OS gets old this happen just disable the startup scan in sceduler of your eset proggy....:D
     
  19. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    The problem persists, even with all scheduled tasks off
     
  20. philby

    philby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2008
    Posts:
    940
    Hello again

    I'm still baffled as to how you don't have the workstation service (start > run > services.msc). I thought it was a feature of both Pro and Home... o_O

    If you can disable it - which is fine if you're not running shares on a wireless LAN - you won't have the lag anymore.

    I've always had this problem running ESET post V2 on both XPsp2 and XPsp3 and have just again retested the effect of disabling the workstation service on two different machines, one with ESS v3, the other with EAV 4 on board - the c. 90 second boot lag disappears on both machines with the service off.

    philby
     
  21. spaming

    spaming Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Posts:
    12
    Sorry now i see the workstation service and disabled it. It still take a little long to load but less than before.
    So thanks
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.