NOD32/SP2/Windows Update v5

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by phasechange, Aug 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Hi!

    I turned off NOD32 installed SP2 rebooted, turned on NOD32. All was well. However windows update wasn't working. So I removed NOD32, put on the beta, and windows update still gives errors.

    I looked on the MS Discussion Boards and the MS rep there told someone else to remove NOD32, so I did and update works. I put it back on. Stops again. I disable everything, no joy, quit nod32, no joy, uninstall, WU works even before the reboot!

    Anyone got a fix?

    Fairy
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have just updated to SP2 on Windows XP Pro with Nod32 Beta, shutdown Nod32 and all other security apps before installing SP2 (a few hours ago) and everything went smooth, except ZoneAlarm Free which causes system to lock up.

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Office update stops at 40%, tried turning of Nod, no difference, will have to try again tomorrow to see if problem still exists...

    Cheers :D
     

    Attached Files:

  4. SimonJN

    SimonJN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2004
    Posts:
    20
    Not much luck with SP2 either. The installation was fairly smooth - however, upon restart my wireless network card could no longer get an ip address from my router. I could manually configure one though, and that sort of worked but then I still had trouble accessing the web as my isp (NTL in the uk) kept bouncing me to a page saying I had the Netsky virus! Why it would think that, I don't know.

    Anyway, did a full system scan with Nod and then with Mcafee Stinger - neither found anything wrong. Uninstalled SP2, and everything started working again. Very strange. Going to have another go this evening, and see if I can work out what is going on.
     
  5. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Just tried again and the service is running fine and recognised by windows but windows update says:

    "Error number: 0x800A01AD

    Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested page. You may find the following resources helpful in resolving the problem: "


    bah!!!!
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

    See here for a solution:

    http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=833766

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  7. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    I'm afraid I have tried that but the problem persists. Damn annoying!

    I'm now running a 3 month trial version of Norton AV. Boy is it slow! In fact it is awful. However if NOD32 wont co-exist with WU then I have little choice. I have actually tried almost every WU fix on the MS Knowledgebase just in case they'll help. No joy though, sob! :'(
     
  8. rumpstah

    rumpstah Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Posts:
    486
    Just disable IMON before the download and it will work fine.
     
  9. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    Go back to ZA 4.5. More stable than 5, other than some useless changes, there doesn't seem to be any kind of appreciable increase in security offered in 5.x.
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks Taz, is there a link available for a 4.5 version that is stable and plays well with SP2?

    Cheers :D
     
  11. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Eset will fix the problem, give them a little time. Send through a email to support@eset.com describing your problem, together with a link to this thread.

    Cheers :D
     
  12. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
  13. Alec

    Alec Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    Posts:
    355
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    I don't really have any helpful advice as to problem resolution, but I do know that it can work and that it is not an absolute incompatibility between NOD32 and SP2 and Windows Update v5. Sometimes simply knowning that it can work can be useful. I am running NOD32 2.000.11b on XP Professional and I have installed WindowsXP-KB835935-SP2-ENU.exe. My Windows Update Web Control (wuweb.dll) is shown as version 5.4.3790.2182. I have IMON enabled in NOD32 and I have no problems accessing the Windows Update web site.

    It may go against the advice of some of the others on this board (as well as elsewhere), but I actually would recommend leaving certain apps like NOD32 and ZA on when you install SP2. Exiting out of the toolbar tray app usually does not disable the lower level kernel mode drivers/services, nor does it remove the registry entries associated with starting such programs upon reboot. SP2 involves a reboot process and you may just serve to outsmart yourself if you disable such 3rd party programs during the initial setup phase but then they start up automatically and are active during the reboot phase. So I believe that you should either leaving 'em up and running or totally uninstall them. IMHO, the main reason that programs like SP2 tell you to exit all "open programs" is primarily to avoid data loss (eg, you are editing the next New York Times bestselling novel in Microsoft Word when you try to install SP2). Most hard conflicts between low-level apps like software firewalls, AV programs, etc. and SP2 will largely haven been vetted out during the beta process (maybe I'm just overly confident about such things :D ).
     
  14. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
    I'm not using NOD but I too have a problem

    Windows Update has encountered an error and cannot display the requested page. You may find the following resources helpful in resolving the problem:

    This error is not even listed in update troubleshooter: [Error number: 0x8024402C]
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
  16. lynchknot

    lynchknot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    SW WA
  17. phasechange

    phasechange Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Posts:
    359
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    I am now running 2.12.0 and all of my problems are resolved... Now I have to go see how much this costs (I have a Trend subscription oh and a Norton one but I need a NOD32 one!).

    Thanks guys, hopefully this new build will go public soon coz it is much better,
    Fairy
     
  18. Yeah this is a check in SP2 for pirated keys, if keys were found (those created by KEYGEN) then WINUPDATE will give you that error while your IP is logged and information about you pc is gathered (you notice that you first have to install a proggy and then it takes a few seconds to a mintue before the error occurs).



    ^^^^^^
    Sorry just had to do that. :)


    Anyhow, am haveing the same problem. Worst yet, my SP2 nuked my winsock2 so I had to rebuild it before I could fetch any IP from my DHCP server. (I was useing Sygate along with ADmuncher).
     
  19. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    And where do you have this information from? I believe you are exaggerating a bit. And not only that, but you are accusing (without actual proof) people in this thread of using pirated software. By the way, here's an official statement I found on the net:

    "We expect that nearly all Windows XP users, running genuine or pirated Windows, will have access to the security technologies in SP2. The same users that were blocked from installing SP1 - those that have used a small set of legacy pirated product keys - will be blocked from installing SP2. We believe that there are very few systems in use today that use these keys -- in other words, the pirates have moved on to other keys which we are not blocking.
    So how do we charaterize our policy?
    We want to make sure that the broadest number of people can install SP2. The nature of malicious attacks on computer users is constantly changing and we will continue to evaluate how we deal with security updates for pirated versions of Windows to best protect our genuine Windows customers.
    Thanks,
    Gary Schare
    Microsoft."
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I think Piratedsoftware made his post in jest ;)

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.