NOD32 settings affecting ADSL2 speed

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Bluedognoosa21, Feb 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bluedognoosa21

    Bluedognoosa21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    Hi

    We recently upgraded to ADSL2 and were expecting a significant improvement in speed. In reality we've seen no improvement in speed etc etc which led me to contact Telstra BigPond. One of the things they asked me to do was to disable my anti-virus program and run the speed test again.

    Before I disabled NOD32 speeds were -

    Download - 169kbps
    Upload - 37 kbps
    QOS - 39%

    When I disabled NOD32 speeds were -

    Download - 2.5Mbps
    Upload - 316kbps
    QOS - 0%

    So it seems that my NOD32 settings are affecting the speed.

    I went in and had a look and noticed that there are settings that look like they could be changed but I don't know what to do.

    Would anyone be able to give me some guidance on this please?

    Thank you
     
  2. BFG

    BFG Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Posts:
    482
    Location:
    San Diego
    Hello,

    What version of NOD32 are you using please?

    BFG
     
  3. Bluedognoosa21

    Bluedognoosa21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    v3.0.566.0
     
  4. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Have you tried the "new" version of 3.0.621 ? It might just clear things up.
     
  5. Bluedognoosa21

    Bluedognoosa21 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Posts:
    3
    I wasn't aware that there was a more recent version available until I did some searching in this forum (why doesn't ESET notify us of these updates?). But when I read the following thread I wasn't confident that it will resolve my problem.

    http://https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=199515

    Hopefully this takes you to the follow Posting which includes the quote below...........

    Internet slow after v3 install, any help appreciated

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.