NOD32 Requires your attention for optional updates...

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ThomasAdams, Sep 5, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThomasAdams

    ThomasAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    NOD32 AV 4.2.64.12
    Code:
    Virus signature database: 5423 (20100904)
    Update module: 1031 (20091029)
    Antivirus and antispyware scanner module: 1285 (20100820)
    Advanced heuristics module: 1114 (20100827)
    Archive support module: 1122 (20100826)
    Cleaner module: 1048 (20091123)
    Anti-Stealth support module: 1021 (20100811)
    SysInspector module: 1216 (20100517)
    Self-defense support module : 1016 (20100404)
    Real-time file system protection module: 1004 (20100727)

    I have updated to the most recent version of EAS 4.XXXX and I am curious as to why it is showing Microsoft "Optional Updates" as security concerns.

    For instance, there is an ATI video update, which I never use to update from, I always goto ATI's website. In any case this is listed as Hardware Optional Update. Or the Realtek Ethernet update, that always kills my Ethernet. Causing me to have to revert back to the older drivers... In any case, Microsoft's website states "These updates are not critical to your computer's security or performance but they can improve how some features, programs, or devices work. To help protect your computer, make sure you install all high-priority updates."

    While I do not consider MS as a security source :) I know that many "optional" updates are just not needed.

    If I choose not to update, how can I get Eset NOD32 to ignore optional updates? Can I? Am I just stuck with an Orange Icon in my systray? And more importantly, why are hardware updates even reported by an AV? :blink:
     
  2. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,736
    Location:
    New York City
  3. rothko

    rothko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Posts:
    579
    Location:
    UK
    Hi,

    I have mine (Smart Security, but should be the same option in the AV) to only notify on Critical issues, it may be that option is set to something lower on yours?

    See below (found in Setup - Tools - System updates)

    (edit: ah, Thankful beat me to it :))
     

    Attached Files:

  4. ThomasAdams

    ThomasAdams Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Posts:
    35
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Thank you both very much!! Everything is good now!!

    :cool:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.