NOD32 RAM usage

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by NOD32 user, Oct 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Maybe, but I believe that the wikipedia is still completely accurate in its account of NOD32.

    Cheers :)
     
  2. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    As I posted here ram usage has gone up a little with 2.7. This is a concern, only because it could be the start of a bad trend.

    Nate
     
    Last edited: Oct 29, 2006
  3. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
  4. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Why the fixation with RAM usage? On new computers most AV's run very light despite "relatively high" figures.

    I have at least 1 GB RAM on all my machines now and NOD, AntiVir, Dr Web and VBA32 all seem lightweight despite widely different RAM usage.

    NOD is a well-known low footprint AV and a 10 MB increase here or there will not make much difference to a system unless it is very old and RAM limited.

    Personally I don't care how much memory an AV uses, as long as it doesn't slow down any of my machines.
     
  5. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't see much of difference, maybe a couple of mb's but that ain't nothing to get upset about.
     
  6. iNsuRRecTioN

    iNsuRRecTioN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Posts:
    303
    Location:
    Germany
  7. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    As long as it's not CPU hungry like 90% of other AV apps are, then it's all good.
    New functions requires more memory, it's simple logic.
     
  8. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    I've said this before when discussing , or rather ranting about VBA, but I shall summarize argument. Just because modern computers are capable of supporting these applications and their requirement does not mean that we should have to; just because we have the resources does not mean we should be forced to use them. That being said, I see your point. Please see mine as well. NOD32 is heavier than the 2.5 version, both in terms ram usage and cpu. I used to be able to use my system while NOD32 was scanning via on-demand scanner. As of 2.7 I cannot. It is too heavier to allow this. This is a negative current trend if you ask me, albeit a slight one
     
  9. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    I do ;)
    But still in beta so things might change ;)
     
  10. n8chavez

    n8chavez Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2003
    Posts:
    2,302
    Location:
    Location Unknown
    Here's one other thing to consider. NOD32 2.7 has improved dramatically in the areas which others would consider 2.5 weak. So much so that it is possible to stop using other security applications, eg. antispyware, ewido, a-squared, etc., because NOD32 2.7 has now covered all those bases with it's one application. With that in mind, does NOD32 2.7 deserve more leniency? I would say yes. However the perfectionist in me is screaming no.
    :thumb: to ESET on this one.
     
  11. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    i agree and once it all works properly thata might be able to make the code packed tighter so it uses less resourse but i dont know since i dont make software
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.