Nod32 Problems!

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by koshthetrekkie, Aug 17, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. koshthetrekkie

koshthetrekkie Registered Member

Hi, My current AV subscription to norton has expired and I'm considering changing to either KAV or nod32. I heard all the hype about nod32 but I've been doign my homework have have found a lot of problems with it and was hoping someone here could resolve my queries.

The advanced user interface of nod32 would not bother me as I am a computer professional and get annoyed at "lovely" gui's that dont let you do what you want. And the resource usage of norton or KAV doesn't really bother me as my desktop can handle it although it can be annoying on my older test PCs. Still my main concern is protection and compatibility and therefore would be extremely grateful if anyone can answer my questions below.

(1) Nod32 seems to show a lot of locked(4) messages when scanning files on other users computers. I've read this is because they are either locekd system files or active and running in memory and so it can't access them. However are other scanners like KAV and norton not able to scan files like this? and if this is the case is it a serious limitation of nod32's effectiveness as being unable to scan these type of files?

(2) I've read that nod32 is excellant at finding "in the wild" viruses that aren't known yet but isn't as good as KAV, norton, or mcafee to detect viruses that are already known, and especially with spyware, trojans, exploits and similar malware types. I would rather have a program that has the best detection rate on virus, trojans, backdoors and the like and it seems that on known malware threats of all types KAV, mcafee, norton always faired better that nod32 in the tests. Is this true cos as I said I want a good scanner not necessary the fastest scanner? I don't want to compromise speed for efficiency!!