nod32 or fprot

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by cupez80, Aug 11, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    i have old celeron 566 with 96mb sdram pc. i'd to install AV on this machine. what would the best choice ? NOD32 or F-Prot ? o_O
     
  2. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    I would say in your case F-prot, you could probably get NOD32 down pretty low by disabling everything except resident shield.

    There's some Dr Web users here that say it runs real light.
     
  3. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    what setting i should use on NOD32 to reduce resource usage ?
     
  4. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    You should wait a bit for a NOD32 expert, I would just use the resident shield but I don't use NOD32 so can't really ansewr.

    In truth I wouldn't waste any money on an AV, go buy more memory instead and use a free AV until you have more $$.
     
  5. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    no actually this my office pc. i use KAV on my laptop at home.
     
  6. FastGame

    FastGame Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Posts:
    677
    Location:
    Blasters worm farm
    Guess that eliminates Free AV's ;)

    Test the AV's and see how low you can get them to go....F-Prot is a for sure thing on your PC, it runs real light.

    Where you live isn't memory cheap ?

    [edit]= https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=86487
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2005
  7. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    maybe i should buy a new pc rather than buy memory
     
  8. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    Turning off some modules in NOD32 doesn't reduce memory usage.. But NOD32 uses very low resources..
     
  9. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    i just try installing NOD32 and its seems good enough and not using much resource. :D :D
     
  10. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    About this much on my good ol' pc
     

    Attached Files:

  11. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    See my numbers.. ;)
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    wow I must be doing something wrong then.. hmm strange
     
  13. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    Maybe NOD32 has been just updated, or performed a scan...
     
  14. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Nope just turned on my pc, and it stays at 17.334 now.
    I'm not complaining though, as it's all very fast - However the numbers on your system are quite low...
    Research time I guess ;)
     
  15. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    It may be due to a difference in O.S. between the two computers.
     
  16. Detox

    Detox Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    8,507
    Location:
    Texas, USA
    I would imagine so - my WIN2k machine has

    nod32krn.exe @16,700 K
    nod32kui.exe @2,200 K

    Pretty similar to Brian's.
     
  17. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    Mine same as Detox
     
  18. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    The lowest I can get is 14.xxx - But only if I disable the startup scan.
    Also it seems to increase to 15.xxx when checking Gmail via Gmail Notifier.

    I'm running XP SP2 just so you know ;)
     
  19. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Yep, very similar to my numbers (XP). :)
     
  20. fosius

    fosius Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2004
    Posts:
    479
    Location:
    Partizanske, Slovakia
    I looked at my numbers again (XP SP2):
    nod32krn.exe - 1640kb
    nod32kui.exe - 400kb
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2005
  21. carino

    carino Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Posts:
    1
    I would say Nod32 is better than F-Prot,and light on system resources as well.

    My Nod32 on Win XP SP2:

    nod32krn.exe 2,944K
    nod32kui.exe 696K
    ;)
     
    Last edited: Aug 13, 2005
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.