nod32 optomized for amd x2 dual core?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by lodore, Feb 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    hello does nod32 make use of amd x2 dual core socket am2?
    im thinking of getting a cheap amd dual core based pc soon and i have a nod32 license and would wnat to use nod32 on that pc.
    lodore
     
  2. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    NOD32 is optimized for multithreading, which will benefit your dual core AMD setup. As such, NOD32 is not specifically optimized or AMD or Intel processors, however, you shouldn't expect that NOD32 is going to be super slow because it isn't "optimized" for your processor. I think you will be pleased with NOD's performance on your new PC. ;)
     
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Lodore, as you can see in my signature I run Nod on a 939 socket dual-core. It is smooth as silk. :D
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    I don't see any noticeable performance differences of nod32 between a single or dual core system. Both run pretty damn quick so theres definitely no problems using it on either.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thats alright then
    i just didnt want nod32 using only one cpu and having one cpu max and one idle
    ok now the next stage getting a weekend job to pay for the new pc:D
    lodore
     
  6. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    It's kicking ass on my old 3200+ :D
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    well all i need now is the money for the pc:D
    but with amd processer prices dropping i might be able to get a better cpu by the time i get it or a better mobo
    lodore
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    I have tested NOD32 on Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 (2.4GHz, 4MB L2) and E6300 (1.86GHz, 2MB L2) dual-core processors, as well as on Intel 650 (3.4GHz, 2MB L2) and 531 (3.0GHz, 1MB L2) processors, which are not dual-core, but have hyper-threading enabled. No problems noted.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. Wingman

    Wingman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    I'm running Socket 939 X2 4800+ Toledo... no problems with NOD32 on this rig.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.