NOD32 not updating

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by BTIsaac, Jan 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BTIsaac

    BTIsaac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    I saw this issue being addressed a few times in the other sub-forum, so I know I'm not the only one having this problem, but I didn't see any answers, so I have no choice but to ask again.
    NOD32's virus signature database didn't update since version 3808. When I try to update manually, it tells me that my virus signature database is up to date, even though the site clearly says that version 3808 is the latest one.
    I know my license is fine, since I'm not getting an 'Incorrect user name or password' message every hour. Besides, I bought it 6 months ago and it was supposed to last a year.
    I'd like to know what's causing this problem, will it be fixed automatically, or if not, how to fix it.
     
  2. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I am stuck on 3796:thumbd:
     
  3. cocolucho

    cocolucho Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Posts:
    80
    Update 3815 (20090131)2009-01-31 09:32
    Win32/Kapucen.NAM

    I can not update, I am in 3814, and 3815 and updated in this web, I do it manually several times and nothing.
    Any comments?
    Thanks
     
  4. Brummelchen

    Brummelchen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Posts:
    1,732
  5. BTIsaac

    BTIsaac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2009
    Posts:
    46
    Oh? That's understandable. And in the same time, reassuring.
    At first, I thought it was something my Windows update downloaded three days ago. Then I heard there was some issue with similar symptoms last year, and it required reinstalling NOD32.
    But it's maintenance. That's good to hear.
     
  6. tommygun

    tommygun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    .......I installed the trial version 3.0.669.0 yesterday with the virus signature database: 3231 (20080701).

    The virus signature database won't update.

    It says that I'm up to date but apparently I'm not.

    Server maintenance should be over by now but I still can't update the virus signature database.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated.......
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I've just installed the EAV 3.0.669 trial version and it updated the signature database to the latest version immediately. Are you still unable to update?
     
  8. tommygun

    tommygun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    .......it just updated from 3231 (20080701) to 2975 (20080326) which seems to be an even older virus signature database than the one before the update.

    I tried again to update manually but it says I'm up to date which I'm not.

    I'm just in the process of switching from BitDefender to NOD32 even though I have nearly 3 years of a BitDefender subscription left but I'm having trouble with BitDefender for about a month now.

    The problem seems to go on with NOD32.

    I really want this to work because I like NOD32 better than BitDefender.

    Hopefully this can be sorted out.......
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There's definitely something wrong with your EAV. Try uninstalling it completely and installing it from scratch. I assume you don't have any other security software installed that might prevent NOD32 from saving information to the registry or disk.
     
  10. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Although I have manually updated to the most recent signature (3816), the date I display (20090201) is different from the date shown on the website (20090131). I have never seen this before.
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    The updates are issued from Bratislava. The update on the U.S. site uses local time and would indicate the time in the States as to when the update was posted.
     
  12. Thankful

    Thankful Savings Monitor

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2005
    Posts:
    3,731
    Location:
    New York City
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2009
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,719
    Location:
    Texas
    I suppose the update would list the date in Bratislava. Technically, either one is correct depending on your location.

    At the time of your beta update thread, Version 4 did in fact show the program as having updated although it was never listed on the update sites. The reason for this is unknown to me.
     
  14. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Mine went down to 2740 :thumbd: :thumbd: When I try to update, it says that the databse is current. wut can I dew?
     
  15. tommygun

    tommygun Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Posts:
    29
    Location:
    Thailand
    .......uninstalled and cleaned the registry and then a fresh install.

    Everything seems to be fine now.

    Updated automatically to virus signature database: 3817 (20090202) which is the latest one.

    Thanks a lot for the tip.......
     
  16. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Is there something I can do?
     
  17. funkydude

    funkydude Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2004
    Posts:
    6,851
    Probably the same thing.
     
  18. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Clean the registery and reinstal? How do I clean that?
     
  19. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Delete the HKLM\Software\Eset key in regedit and delete c:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET (C:\Programdata\ESET\ESET NOD32 Antivirus in Vista) after uninstalling.
     
  20. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    It still won't update.
     
  21. CoolShady

    CoolShady Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    Did you uninstall NOD32 or just delete the registry key? If not, uninstall and reinstall NOD32 as well.
     
  22. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    Yeah, I did all that, deteled the registry and nod32 after. Reinstalled the whole thing and it still won't update to anything newer than version 2740 which is dated 2007-12-21 .....
     
  23. CoolShady

    CoolShady Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    19
    What operatiing system are you using?
     
  24. Nomegusta

    Nomegusta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Posts:
    10
    XP sp3
     
  25. ctrl

    ctrl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Posts:
    15
    Location:
    India
    ^^ Yup when i try to update on my sp3 machine the database goes back to some v2967 or something. But updates nicely on my sp2 machine. I am using the trial version 3.0.669.0. Xp sp3 sucks. :p
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.