Nod32 Not Turning On

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by rugmankc, Jun 3, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Lately when I bring up my computer the windows security shield comes up and says Nod32 is turned off, turn back on. I have to open up windows security and turn malware back on.

    The Nod32 screen shows antivirus/antispyware off as well. I didn't try to see if I can reactivate it that way alone.


    Anyone with a similar problem. Version 3.0.684.0. All updates are done automatically.

    Nothing new on the computer.




    Ken
     
  2. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    this morning i turn on my PC and got virus initialization failed.... yesterday everything fine... weird.. already tried to repair but still got this error...
     
  3. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Yea,

    This started yesterday. I just resolved an initialization problem by changing a start up service setting.

    I did upgrade to Comodo FW 3.9. Not sure if that is the culprit.

    Will give it awhile then turnoff or uninstall CFW.




    Ken
     
  4. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    uninstall(delete all ESET folder in program files, documents & setting) and re-install did correct the problem... but still i dont understand what the cause...

    EDIT : when i trying to update to 4129 suddenly NOD32 error again (virus scanner initialization failed)... im using NOD32 4.0.437.0
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2009
  5. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    ive solved my problem... it seems my PC memory got defect... so it cause several software error when runing including ESET..
     
  6. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US

    Good news.

    I'll wait and see on mine. Hasn't done it today.

    Things are running smooth.




    Ken
     
  7. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US

    This problem still persists after uninstall of 3.9 and new install of 4.0

    A red exclamation mark appears for nod32 when I open the window and it holds off internet access as far as loading firefox. It still updates. But, windows security center pops a balloon that says my AV is turned off and I need to turn on.

    This has been going on while I had a slow intialization problem with comodo fw. I upgraded to 3.10 on comodo and that problem is fixed.

    Could something in windows be turning nod off and/or delaying it for about 30 seconds.



    Ken
     
  8. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US

    cupez80,

    How did you rectify your problem?



    Ken
     
  9. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    605
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    like i said before... it seems my pc memory was the cause so i change my pc RAM with good one.
     
  10. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US

    Thanks, I just didn't understand exactly what you meant.


    This is a new computer and I have no reason to believe the ram is defective.

    Possibly still a windows issue.

    I have nod32 and comodo fw set to trust each other, so doubt that is the problem.



    Ken
     
  11. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    DISREGARD, IT WAS TURNED BACK OFF SECOND TIME I RESTARTED COMPUTER!!!!!!


    I disabled all the start up auto files checks as in my attachments. NOD32 started up quickly and was not turned off.


    1. Would one of the check boxes pertain to my problem more than another? I can restart computer with checking only one at a time to see if a particular one is affected.

    2. If I leave all unchecked how much is my security reduced if any?

    3. The graph attachment was real time. Does it look normal since I unchecked all the start up option boxes under auto file check.




    Ken

    Capture 2000.JPG

    Capture 2001.JPG

    Capture 2002.JPG
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  12. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    It doesn't sound like anyone else has this issue and I may not resolve it.

    But, I have now seen exactly what is happening.

    At start-up a windows balloon comes up and says your AV is turned off, click to turn on. I do nothing. If I do try to turn on thru windows nothing happens.

    When I check Comodo FW it is running fine. But, when i open NOD32 the screen under Maximum Protection shows a red exclamation mark by AntiVirus and AntiSpyware.

    However, NOD32 updates during this and the eye is in motion.

    After a minute the Red Windows AV not turned on symbol goes away in the system tray and the red NOD32 exclamation mark goes green.



    Thanks for any ideas. I just did a complete uninstall of 3.? and fresh install of
    4.0.



    Ken
     
  13. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    To me, it sounds like a conflict between Comodo and NOD32. Have you tried using NOD with the Windows firewall active and Comodo off?
     
  14. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Thanks ronjor,

    I have, and it made no difference. As stated, I also have both to exclude each other.

    It still could be a windows problem, but don't know how to troublshoot it. Nobody on the Comodo forum has this problem.

    It is like windows thinks NOD is off, but it isn't.





    Ken
     
  15. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello Ken,

    Microsoft has made some changes in Security Center notifications and it may affect you. Not sure what was going on with your system a month ago though.

    http://isc.sans.org/diary.html?n&storyid=6808

    Edit: Are you using a wireless connection to the internet?
     
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2009
  16. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    ronjor,

    That was a great find and sounds like my problem, THANKS.

    I am using a wireless connection from an apple router off of my son's dsl modem/router hooked to his pc. There have been no problems since day one.

    All my software is up to date, except for updating to Vista SP2.

    Not sure what to do at this point.



    ken
     
  17. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    ronjor,

    Forgot to answer your other comment.

    A month ago Comodo was taking a long time to initialize and may have been affecting Nod. Version 3.10 seems to have solved that.

    My current problem seems to be exactly what the link you gave me was talking about, the certificates.

    This is all speculation so far, but seems to be a good bet that it is the problem.

    Now what to do. :doubt:




    Ken
     
  18. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Does ESET have to issue a new certificate to Microsoft to solve this problem?



    Ken
     
  19. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Ken, have you looked in the NOD32 event log to see if any errors are logged?
     
  20. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    No, I'll check that out over the weekend.



    Thanks,

    Ken
     
  21. solbaru

    solbaru Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Posts:
    4
    Hi

    I am also seeing this, it started about 3 days ago, need to manually start the real time scanner after a reboot.
    The log files don't show any problems at all.

    Nick
     
  22. rugmankc

    rugmankc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Fairborn, Ohio US
    Is this and the below thread now duplicating each other?

    "NOD32 and Windows Security Center"





    Ken
     
  23. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Has the problem been solved? If not, then, I wonder if you there is a conflict between the respective configurations for ESET NOD32 Antivirus and Comodo Firewall.

    Try downloading the latest versions of ESET NOD32 Antivirus and Comodo Firewall (so you have the latest installers), then uninstall both programs.

    Go ahead and re-install ESET NOD32 Antivirus, using the default settingss and let it update.

    Let the system run for a bit to ensure ESET NOD32 Antivirus is operating correctly.

    Now, install Comodo Firewall, using the author's default recommended settings.

    Set up exclusions in ESET NOD32 Antivirus to not scan the Comodo Firewall directory, plus any files it installs in the C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\ directory.

    In Commodo Firewall, set up exclusions for the following directories:
    • C:\Program Files\ESET\ directory
    • C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\ESET\ directory
    • C:\Documents and Settings\%user%\Application Data\ESET directory (where %user% is your username in Windows)
    • C:\ProgramData\ESET\ directory (under Microsoft Windows Vista or newer)
    and the the following files:
    • C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\EAMON.SYS
    • C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\EHDRV.SYS
    • C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\DRIVERS\EPFWTDIR.SYS
    At this point, I think the two programs should be working together. If problems persist, try disabling ESET NOD32 Antivirus's Self Defense feature and see if that makes any difference.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.