NOD32 not seen by ISP on start up

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Tonser, Apr 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tonser

    Tonser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Hi,

    I'm pretty new to all this, so I hope someone can help. I have just installed NOD32 AV on recommendation of a friend. When i start up my ISP, (AOL), it says it cannot detect anti-virus software. When I go to Windows security centre, in the control panel, it tells me that NOD32 2.51 in on and running. I also run Zone Alarm Pro, and it also cannot dectect NOD32. Can anyone tell me what's happening, is NOD32 protecting me? Sometimes the NOD32 icon appears in the system tray and sometimes it doesn't.

    Thanks a lot............Tonser

    ps On initial boot up the NOD32 screen appears or a few seconds as i it's starting up.
     
  2. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Sounds like AOHe..I mean..AOL..needs to update their own security center...tell it about a few more antivirus programs. Probably a limited database in there..a handful of the big 3 or 4 well known brands. Anything else..and it just goes "huh?"
     
  3. Tonser

    Tonser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Posts:
    8
    Then why doesn't Zone Alarm Pro detect it??
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest


    Because Zone Alarn cannot detect all AV products and ZA do not detect NOD32. The most important is the Windows XP SP2 Security Center.

    As you are new to the computer stuff , make sure you learn how to protect your PC:

    Microsoft Protect your PC site
    http://www.microsoft.com/protect

    Microsoft Windows XP SP2 home page
    http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/sp2/default.mspx

    NOD32 settings (make sure your NOD32 is properly configured so you have maximum protection)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=266653#post266653

    Best regards!
     
  5. i_kenefick

    i_kenefick Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2005
    Posts:
    135
    Location:
    Cork, Ireland.
    Do not adjust your set. There is nothing wrong with your NOD32 installation. AOL software can detect a limited number of AV programs. You should call their tech support and ask them if they will add NOD32 to the list of detected AV programs. They might say 'we only recommend Sym.. or McA..' but they might also pass on your request to member services :shifty:
     
  6. duijv023

    duijv023 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2006
    Posts:
    230
    Location:
    Rijnsburg, Netherlands
    When you wat to test if your antivirus product is working, use the antivirus testfiles on http://www.eicar.org .
    These files must trigger IMON or AMON. If you configured your NOD32 to repair autmatically, or to delete automatically AND NOD32 works in "silent mode", then I guess you will not see an alarm message. Check your logfiles instead. Any EICAR testfile should be mentioned there.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.