NOD32 no longer auto starts on Windows startup?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mr greek, Dec 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mr greek

    mr greek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Hi All:

    For some reason NOD32 no longer auto starts when Windows is restarted.

    Is there a switch in NOD32 that specifies that NOD32 starts up whenever Windows is started??

    Thanks.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please reinstall NOD32 as described HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  3. mr greek

    mr greek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    How can I confirm that NOD32 has loaded correctly upon startup o_O

    Guys:

    The problem I have is that sometimes when I start my WinXP PC, it appears that NOD32 has not automatically loaded upon startup.
    I don't know why this happens.
    Once it get in this state, it is impossible (from my experience) to make NOD32 load automatically.

    Can someone who really understand how NOD32 works {{... unfortunately I do not o_O o_O o_O }} please explain what should be in place if NOD32 has automatically started properly upon startup:

    QUESTION No1:
    If NOD32 starts up properly, should there be a NOD32 icon in the bottom right hand corner area?

    QUESTION No2:
    If NOD32 starts up properly, what processes should be active and running when I go to WINDOWS TASK MANAGER > PROCESSES TAB?
    ( ie how many NOD32 related processes and what are they called )

    QUESTION No3:
    If NOD32 starts up properly, what else is there that tells me that everything is working as it should ?
    ( eg should I also look at START > CONTROL PANEL > ADMINISTRATIVE TOOLS > SERVICES ? )

    QUESTION No4
    If NOD32 is failing to automatically start upon Windows startup, is it acceptable to rectify this by just using a "STARTUP MANAGER" utility and then manually adding an entry to the startup routine as per screen capture below:
    Manually_Adding-NOD32 to Startup..png
     
  4. Biscuit

    Biscuit Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    Isle of Man
  5. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Re: How can I confirm that NOD32 has loaded correctly upon startup o_O

    Yes
    NOD32KRN.EXE and NOD32KUI.EXE

    "If NOD32 is failing to automatically start upon Windows startup"....you possibly would see a message entry via eventvwr.msc /s

    Edit
    What Biscuit said and I have also merged the thread you started this AM with this ongoing thread concerning this matter.

    Bubba
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2007
  6. mr greek

    mr greek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Posts:
    28
    Thanks for the detailed response.

    Just letting you know that this does not always work.

    What I have ended up doing, is to manually modify the Windows Startup routine to include an additional startup item pointing to:
    C:\Program Files\ESET\nod32kui.exe

    I am no expert, and therefore not sure if this is "sufficient" to resolve the issue, but it appears to have worked.

    Once again, many thanks for going to detail in your responses.
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome.

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.