NOD32 = No Internet?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by BTJustice, Dec 23, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    I have Windows XP Pro with SP1a and Norton AntiVirus 2003 running, well, at least it was. I decided to try NOD32 so I downloaded, installed, rebooted, and configured and everything worked well then one day, after a reboot, I had a message that NOD32 changed my network settings and needed the computer to be rebooted. I reboot and my Internet and network no longer worked. After trying several ideas to no avail, I reinstalled Windows XP completely. I couldn't even go to ADD/REMOVE and uninstall it since it would pop up an error message about SVCHOST.EXE.

    So after I had Windows XP Pro reinstalled, SP1a installed, and my hardware drivers installed I decided to go ahead and redownload NOD32. And guess what? It did the same thing again except this time I was able to uninstall it and my Internet and network would work again. PHEW!

    Anyway, what would have caused the problem? I had Norton 2003 installed the first time, but it still worked with both running. This time, I had NOD32 installed first without Norton 2003 ever being installed. I am on Wireless Internet using an external antenna which goes to my D-Link Wireless G network card in my computer. I also have a regular 10/100 NIC which goes to a D-Link router so I can share my Internet connection with 3 other computers here at my home. My computer, not the router, does DHCP for my network which uses TCP/IP. I am running the default Windows XP Firewall.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

    Sincerely,
    BTJustice
     
  2. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    I can install NOD32 and my Internet and network will not work. No DHCP
    assigning IPs to network, etc. I uninstall it and my Internet and network
    both work. Weird. It adds 2 processes to the task manager when installed giving me 31 processes running. After uninstalling it, I am down to 29. I take that to mean there is nothing extra running when NOD32 is installed except for the 2 processes it has.

    BTJustice
     
  3. anotherjack

    anotherjack Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    224
    Location:
    Louisiana
    As a first test, disable IMON and see if that doesn't help you out.
     
  4. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    No luck there.

    BTJustice
     
  5. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    Did you go into the IMON set up panel, click on advanced and manually repair the network settings? That would be my first atttempt to see if that made a difference.
     
  6. WilliamP

    WilliamP Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Posts:
    2,201
    Location:
    Fayetteville, Ga
    What version of NOD did you wind up with ? You may have gotten ahold of the the 2.000.8 If that is what you have that is your problem.
     
  7. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Yes, no luck there. I just received an e-mail from one of the NOD techs that says to give this utility a try...

    http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm

    BTJustice
     
  8. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm

    I ran the above program. It removed "imon.dll" and now NOD32 Trial
    2.000.6 works, but IMON appears to be non-existant unless I start the service in which case I am back to the same problem all over again. Does the IMON part of NOD32 Trial 2.000.6 not play well with Windows XP Pro SP1a? If that is the case, is there a newer trial version available?

    BTJustice
     
  9. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Do you tryed to move the slide to less protection more compatiblitie?
     
  10. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Yup... ditto.

    BTJustice
     
  11. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    As far as I know the trial version is the same as the registered version except for the time limitation. I'm using that same registered version on XP SP1 without any problems. So I can't thinkwhat's going on since you've tried both repair and the winsock fix.
     
  12. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    All I know is what http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm said.

    BTJustice
     
  13. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Please make a list of the aplicattions that are related to the Internet, for example: Browser, firewall, mail clients, mail servers, web servers, proxi, etc.
    Do you run a full system scan using Spybot search & destroy, ad-ware or something like that?, some spyware modify the winsock, and others internet realted things.
     
  14. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Mozilla Firebird 0.7 Browser
    Outlook Express 6
    XP Firewall
    Etc.
     
  15. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    Hi,
    I never used the XP FW, however this FW is incompatible with some Internet aplicattions.
    Disable it and install other free FW like sygate www.sygate.com, or zonealarm www.zonelabs.com and look if the problem disappear.
    I don't know if xp fw is incompatible with imon, however some bugs are presented in certain configurations.
    Interesting.
     
  16. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    BTJustice,

    Can you have a look what other components showed up in LSPFix?
    Including the ones on the "Keep" side.

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  17. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Yup, they are...

    mswsock.dll
    winrnr.dll
    Proxy.dll
    rsvpsp.dll

    The one removed was imon.dll

    BTJustice
     
  18. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    And the proxy.dll is from which program?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  19. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    I have no idea.

    BTJustice
     
  20. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Can you do a Find/Files and check it's properties?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  21. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    It is for my SPAMfighter program for Outlook Express.

    http://www.spamfighter.com/

    BTJustice
     
  22. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    That could be conflicting with NOD's imon.dll
    Let's wait first, and see if someone shows up who is using both without problems.

    You wouldn't happen to have AdAware Plus or Pro, do you?

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  23. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Ad-aware 6.0 Personal Build 6.181

    BTJustice
     
  24. Pieter_Arntz

    Pieter_Arntz Spyware Veteran

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Posts:
    13,332
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Do you have the LSP explorer Plugin: http://lavasoft.element5.com/software/plugins/lspexplorer.shtml

    Regards,

    Pieter
     
  25. BTJustice

    BTJustice Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    I do now. What should I do with it?

    BTJustice
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.