NOD32 new release bug?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by The Hunter, Jun 20, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    Hi all

    The new version of Nod32 seems to have a bug. Sometimes on startup the splash screen seems to be stuck for some time with the virus definitions number blank. After about 40 seconds it gets allright by itself. This happens even with splash screen turned off.

    After a little checking, I noticed in the scanning log that whenever it was stuck for those 40 secs. there is an entry in the log where number of files scanned was zero (0). The problem so far seems to be fixed after I unticked the system startup file check at every user logon.

    Has anyone else had this problem?

    Thx
     
  2. Jaska

    Jaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    Yes, I have the same problem. I have never thought it is a bug, just my machine doing something on the background. The pause is a little annoying and if it is caused by a bug it is a nuisance.

     
  3. Firecat

    Firecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Posts:
    7,927
    Location:
    The land of no identity :D
    I had this bug just once, and it was solved after the next reboot. Dunno how :doubt:
     
  4. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    Hi all

    Problem not solved after unticking the startup check.
    Was just playing with ut2004 when pc got stuck in infinite loop :( . After rebooting nod32 again got stuck for some time.

    Anyway its good that u can use your pc normally while nod32 sorts itself out at startup. Hope Eset fixes this in the next release.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This is probably caused by a longer network services startup time, e.g. in case of a wireless network.
     
  6. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    I use a dial-up modem to connect to the internet (not connected to any network on startup). The only major programs that startup are SoundMAX control panel, NOD32 and Sygate Pro. The startup was not that long (40-50 seconds) with Norton's and Avast which I had used previously. It just randomly happens sometimes when I bootup with NOD32. Today it happened only after I restarted the pc after updating the virus signatures.
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi The Hunter, welcome to Wilders.

    Can you please try repairing Winsock as per this post.

    Have you also used the Norton Removal Tool to make sure it has been removed correctly?

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  8. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Hello All
    I too am having the same problem. I have nod32 running on 3 computers and all of them take around 40 seconds for the splash screen to disappear. 2 are dial up PC's and the other is a wireless notebook.
    So far I have tried all of the suggested fixes(I think).
    I have never had any other AV programs. I noticed this problem before I upgraded to 2.5 but thought that it might have been something to do with my dieing Hdd, However with a new Hdd and after a clean install I still had the same problem.

    I have tried turning off all start up program except for nod but it was still the same

    If I quit nod and re-open the control center it only takes around 3-5 seconds. The same thing happens if I log off the user and log back in.

    40 seconds might not seem like long but it feels a lot longer when im staring at the screen

    Man-I'm stumped

    Cheers
     
  9. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Are there any messages in the Windows XP Event Log when this happens? Go to Control Panel --> Admistrative Tools --> Event Log and look at the "Application" and "System" logs.
     
  10. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    I tried the following :

    Uninstalled NOD32.
    Ran CHKDSK, rnis, rnav, winsockxpfix, registry mechanic, norton windoctor.
    Reinstalled NOD32 and updated.
    It ran ok for a few reboots.
    Later on I disabled (unticked) AMON and IMON and quit the control centre while working on some cpu heavy tasks. Didn't retick the boxes before shutting down.
    After restarting, the splash screen got stuck for around 40 seconds (virus signatures version and build version numbers were not visible) and then fixed itself (numbers become visible after about 40 seconds).
    Can someone please try this. Untick all active scanners and click quit at the bottom. Then reboot without activating them again. Do not unload them from the registry.

    I will check the event log the next time it happens.

    Thanks
     
  11. musicman

    musicman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2003
    Posts:
    199
    The Hunter:
    I have just installed Nod32 today, and noticed on reboot a slight hesitation on the splash screen, but not significant enough to cause a alarm. Now I'm running ME and I have quite a few process starting a boot up but no noticable slow down. I would seem what is being loaded at start up may cause this problem to a degree.
     
  12. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    Hello

    To simulate the long startup I disabled AMON and rebooted. It happened and I then checked the event manager. under the system section there were two errors :

    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7022
    Date: 6/25/2005
    Time: 5:38:19 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: USER
    Description:
    The NOD32 Kernel Service service hung on starting.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.



    Event Type: Error
    Event Source: Service Control Manager
    Event Category: None
    Event ID: 7026
    Date: 6/25/2005
    Time: 5:38:19 PM
    User: N/A
    Computer: USER
    Description:
    The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load:
    black

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    Thanks.
     
  13. Hexaguano

    Hexaguano Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2005
    Posts:
    100
  14. hadi

    hadi Guest

    Hi
    Same problem here. Even with newly installed XP-SP2.
    BTW splash screen "off" doesnt mean a fast startup because the program (any program)takes its time to startup with or without splash screen. I prefere splash screen "on" if a program has one because it tells about the startup moment.
    Please how do you disable the startup file check.
     
  15. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I have tried all of the above suggestions several times on all 3 computers and I still have the same problem.
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    And you tried a Winsock Repair?

    Cheers :D
     
  17. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I've tried winsock repair many times on each pc

    Cheers
     
  18. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    Hi all

    Sorry for not replying for so long.

    The problem was solved after following the link posted by hexaguano (thx :) ).

    AMON starts at bootup by default. It seems that if you temporarily disable it by unticking the AMON box and then reboot, the system hangs for sometime while AMON starts up and the error messages appear in the system log(posted earlier).

    Now when I do not need NOD32 to be active I click on stop to completely unload AMON and then I quit the NOD32 GUI. The system does not hang on the next reboot.
    However the drawback of this is that I cannot restart the AMON service unless I reboot.

    Note that you do not have to unload the other monitors to fix this problem. Just untick them (else they will be unregistered).

    Leave the startup system file check on.

    Good luck.
     
  19. The Hunter

    The Hunter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2005
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    Dubai
    I forgot to mention that another alternative is that you disable the automatic startup of AMON on system boot. In that case, you will have to manually start AMON everytime you start your system :rolleyes: . The other way is better.
     
  20. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Ive got it!!!

    All I have done to fix the problem I was having is to re-install service pack 2.

    Don't know why it worked or what it has done but all 3 Pc's are now sweet.

    The build number now appears straight away instead of 40 seconds later and the splash screen is visible for only around 3-5 seconds.

    I'll see how it goes over the next couple of days and I will reply if I strike the same problem again.

    I hope some other people find that this also works for them as I found that the other solutions werent able to rectify my problem

    Thanks and good luck

    Dan
     
  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Thanks for letting us know Dan.

    Cheers :D
     
  22. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Also let us know if there is some Windows Update patch that causes the problem to reappear.
     
  23. DANSBLACKCAT

    DANSBLACKCAT Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    The problem is back!

    I once again have the same problem on all 3 Pc's.

    I have tried running the Sp2 setup again and this time it makes no difference.

    I had a Hdd fail and have a clean install of xp running and still have the same problem - in fact it now hangs for nearly a minute.

    Anyone have any other suggestionso_O


    Dan
     
  24. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    It actually happend on my pc today also. It took about a minute to start, and after looking more into it, I found out it clears all the listed programs in the HTTP client compatibility list.
    Of course if it happens at each and every startup it's probably not related to the issue I experienced today.
     
  25. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    With this issue can you please send an email to support@eset.com and place a link to this thread. If you do not hear from Eset within 3 days (allows for weekends), please advise us here...

    We would appreciate if you could keep us in the loop with your progress, as we all learn this way…

    Cheers :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.