NOD32 + Moz Firefox

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Silver13Surfer, Jun 21, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. All,

    Have also just installed, like many others, mozilla firefox. Does deviating from IE mean i increase my chances of viruses and worms/trojans becuase IMON cannot be configured to Moz Firefox....

    any ideas....thanks

    s13s
     
  2. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    No,its even better. Mozilla (and also Opera) browser is much more secure then IE6.
     
  3. sig

    sig Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    716
    I'm confused by your question. Unless you're running the beta NOD in which IMON has aditional features, the current IMON release scans for email and Firefox is a browser, not an email program. I'm not aware that the beta IMON is browser specific; in fact I'd be very much surprised if it was. No one beta testing it has mentioned anything like that here to date. The current public release version of IMON needs no configuration for any browser.

    Thunderbird is the separate Moz email client. Ordinarily IMON doesn't need any special configuration to scan POP 3 email although some adjustments may be necessary with with some email clients. I haven't yet tried Thunderbird, so I can't say first hand whether there are may be any issues with IMON but others have reported using Thunderbird with IMON without problems. IMON works fine with PocoMail, that I do know. (Note: IMON will not be able to scan email if the ISP's mail server requires a secure [SSL] connection. But that's not a email client related issue.)

    But there certainly should be no issues or loss of functionality between the currently released version of IMON and browsers like Firefox.
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2004
  4. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    it works just fine for me with FF 0.9 and TB 0.7
     
  5. Sorry lads,

    havent been very clear....

    This cropped up becuase when randomly browsing through a google search i hit a music site (using IE 6.0) and NOD screamed modified sub7 trojan, this happened each time i hit the site, i used NOD to del the trojan from the Cashe. When i hit the same site using FF 0.9, the alert didnt come upo_O?

    So i though perhaps NOD doesnt scan FF's cache as it does IE 6.0. I also now understand that NOD IMON is configured to the POP port, hwr i use SSL IMAP connection on a different port, so IMON wouldnt be able to scan this. I remove HTML before viewing all mail in the hope that automated script cant be run and also am very careful about attachements

    Thanks for your help all.

    S13S
     
  6. DiGi

    DiGi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    in the middle of nowhere
    No, this is not NOD trouble, it is IE trouble. That page using some IE security hole to download that trojan. And on FF that hole doesn't exists - so FF doesn't TRY to download it...
     
  7. 0pium_Dealer

    0pium_Dealer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Hi

    When NOD scans Thunderbird emails, does it leave a message at the bottom saying scanned by NOD32 (like it does with Outlook)

    There are no messages when I use Thunderbird, but I do have it with Outlook :doubt:

    Thanks
     
  8. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,746
    Location:
    Texas



    OOPS! Turned on message in Imon and it works fine with Thunderbird. :D
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2004
  9. Silver13Surfer

    Silver13Surfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    6
    Location:
    Where the poppies blume faster
    Thanks DigI

    Yes IE does seem to be full of holes. I am very happy with FF 0.9 and with NOD32 (second year running) very stable.......thanks guys

    s13s
     
  10. 0pium_Dealer

    0pium_Dealer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    I got the message to work for a short while, now it's stopped again. o_O o_O o_O :doubt:

    Is this common?

    IMON, does that scan emails as it is being retrieved from the server?
     
  11. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,746
    Location:
    Texas

    While the role of AMON is to provide real-time, resident, anti-virus monitoring of a system and user actions, the IMON module serves as an anti-virus monitor of traffic between the system and the outside world (Internet).

    IMON's primary role is to monitor incoming email. The key advantage of IMON, compared to its predecessor (POP3 scanner), is its ease of use. There is virtually no setup necessary since this module is email client independent. IMON works on the winsock level.


    Thunderbird is a work in progress. I would look there first.

    Imon scans pop3 email.
     
  12. anybody

    anybody Guest

    using Process Explorer from Sysinternals does show that imon.dll is loaded with firefox ... my guess is it will protect you just fine.
     
  13. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    I get a real nice warm feeling every time I read someone had ditched IE to try another browser, and when I read its Firefox I grin wider than the county/state.

    All I can say is to coin a popular English comic nd say---- "You know it makes sense my son"
     
  14. indoorsurfer

    indoorsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    Hi I'm a nooby here.

    So is it possible to run Firefox with the protection of NOD32 without configuring NOD32?

    thx
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Short and sweet :D Yes :D

    Cheers :D
     
  16. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Just make sure AMON is running. Also check "Scan extensionless files" for AMON, since Firefox uses extensionless files for its cache. If you use HTTP scanner this doesn't matter much... Thats all.
     
  17. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Unless you are on dialup, it is recommended to set the Firefox cache to zero and then set it very low temporarily whenever you want to install extensions as there much be some cache for that. Otherwise, very few users have a cache.
     
  18. indoorsurfer

    indoorsurfer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2
    thanx a lot guys, much appriciated!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.