NOD32: Is updating from v 2.7 to v 4.0 really convenient for non expert users?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by neversaynever, Nov 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. neversaynever

neversaynever Registered Member

Hi.
    It’s my first intervention in this forum (with my terrible English too) and I hope to have posted correctly.

I’m not an expert user. I use Italian version of NOD32 v 2.7, set up with the “Extra Setting Guide v.2 …” by Blackspear, and I’m very satisfied with it.
    The only modification is: in IMON HHTP setup, I use “High compatibility” instead of “High Efficiency” because with “High Efficiency” the automatic update of Windows XP SP3 doesn’t work.
    So when I must visit a new site or a potentially dangerous site, I manually change all my browser (Mozilla Firefox) processes only, from “High Compatibility” to “High Efficiency” for the time of linking and then I return to “High Compatibility”.

I realized that the Italian version v 4.0 has been launched last week. I read many comments and everyone pushes for the updating to the new version; but I have lots of doubts. Here are the main ones.
    - I don’t have any “Extra Setting reference Guide” like the Blackspear one for the v 4.0. Does it exist?
    - Does the “Extra Setting Guide for v 3.0” by Blackspear work also for v 4.0?
    - With v 4.0 can I pass manually from “High Compatibility” to “High Efficiency” for the Firefox processes only, as I usually do with v 2.7 when visiting potentially dangerous sites?
    - The call-center confirmed me that the kernel of v 4.0 is the same of v 2.7, and that I don’t lose anything in terms of security level if I don’t update. So why must I risk to have problems uninstalling v 2.7 that works very well and installing v 4.0 that (I don’t know) could create troubles? Updating often gives problems and I don’t want to risk with so an essential program like the AntiVirus.