NOD32 Install Problem

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Gauthreau, Nov 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    Hi all,

    I've been trying to install the trial version of NOD32 personal, but regardless of where I DL it from, the text in the setup is all garbled up. I don't think it's even a language. I have recently wiped my drive clean, have run all the spyware/adaware removal tools, and have all the XP updates. I am behind a router as well.

    Why has the language changed in the install files? I had previously installed NOD32 before I wiped the drive and everything worked fine. English was english. For some reason, now it's not.

    Neil
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Can you try downloading a FRESH copy from www.nod32.com

    Delete your TEMP files by doing the following:

    Open up Internet Explorer

    Click on Tools

    Internet Options

    General TAB

    Temporary Internet Files

    Delete Files

    Delete All Offline Content.


    Make sure your "Temp" folder exists: C:\Documents and Settings\User Name\Local Settings\Temp Also make sure this folder is empty.

    Delete the Eset folder if it exists in: C Drive> Program Files

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    Hi Neil,
    before you start installing NOD32, make sure the directory program files\eset doesn't exist, or delete it. Should the problem persist, please post a screenshot with the garbled text here.
     
  4. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    Many thanks to both of you. I followed the instructions as posted above and was able to install without any problems. Thanks again. NOD32 is the bomb!

    The garbled language I was refering to before is as seen below:

    http://www.hunt101.com/img/223826.JPG

    The problem is fixed thanks to you guys! Don't have a clue what happened before. Doesn't really matter to me now though.

    Neil
     
  5. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    Looks like Polish to me ;)
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good to see, there is a thread for tweaking Nod32 here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=37509


    Looks like Swahilli to me ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  7. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    That's a great link Blackspear. I tweaked the hell out of NOD! :) I'm fairly new to the program, (but not new to computers) so it really helped. I'll have to tweak the settings on my parents computer as well. Thanks again,

    Neil
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure Neil, all the best...

    Cheers :D
     
  9. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    Got to feel sorry for the Poles, haven't you. Lumbered with a garbled language that looks like Swahili... :D
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    ROFLMAO, anything other than English looks like Swahilli to me ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2004
  11. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    :eek: :'(
     
  12. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    I didn't mean to imply that polish (or whatever that was) wasn't a language, it's just that I've had problems with my computer just throwing a bunch of letters together before in random order. I don't have a clue what caused it, I just assumed that it was the same problem. Sorry if I offended anyone.

    Neil
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You didn't, we're pretty laid back here at Wilders ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  14. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,375
    There must have been a Polish version of NOD32 before. When installing a different language version, it's necessary to remove the Eset folder manually, otherwise the language used during the installation will be mixed up (for instance, this is how it looks like in the Slovak version which Bandicoot has found out to be pretty difficult to master: Začiatočník - kladú sa len základné otázky, Pokročilý - podrobnejšie nastavenia programu, Expert - veľmi podrobné nastavenia)
     
  15. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest

    That's what I don't understand. I had an english version running on my computer for a few weeks, then I formatted the whole shabang, tried to install the same trial version that I saved to a CD and whatever that language was popped up.

    When it was unpacking for install, it was in english, the header and title - NOD32 for windows etc. - was in english, but everything else was in a different language. I'm just glad someone was able to figure it out because I only speak English. I spent some time in Russia, and basically took a great big kick in the crotch trying to learn Russian. Good lord I suck at learning languages.

    Neil
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LMAO, I have the same problem learning English, and that's all I speak ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  17. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Milý Marcos,
    som na Slovensku len 10 mesiacov a ucím sa slovensky tak rýchlo ako sa dá.
    Hlavné je, ze dokázem plynule objednat dve pivá!

    I'm doing my best.... but it's a tricky old language mate.
    Bandicoot
    :D
     
  18. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Mr Coot, looks like you are having trouble with your keyboard, would you like me to send you one? ;) :D

    :D :D :D
     
  19. Meltdown

    Meltdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Posts:
    299
    Location:
    Babylon
    I don't think it's even a language.
     
  20. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    Ha ha.... well, it is a lovely language actually.... just a bit tricky for a dim wit like me. If you'd like a translation, I said to my good pal Marcos :

    "Dear Marcos,
    I've only been in Slovakia for 10 months and I'm learning the language as fast as I can. The main thing is I can order 2 beers fluently!"

    Best to get your priorities right I always think.
    Bandicoot.
    :D :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2004
  21. Gauthreau

    Gauthreau Guest


    I fell the same way. When it came to ordering beer in Russia, I turned into Rainman... "Yea definately beer, I definately need 2 beer"

    Я пиво 2

    Neil
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.