NOD32 in a multi-site network

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rpremuz, May 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    Hi!

    I'd like to ask a question regarding purchasing NOD32 Enterprise Edition for a multi-site network.

    The current "NOD32 Antivirus System Installation Guide – Administration versions" (nod32raman.pdf) gives an example of such a multi-site network (illustration on page 60) and explains that you can have multiple NOD32 RA Servers in such network, e.g. one RAS per site. The RA Servers can be organized hierarchically with replication of data about NOD32 clients. If you connect the NOD32 RA Console to a RAS in such a scheme, you can administer all NOD32 clients that connect to that RA Server and subordinated RA Server(s).

    But the Installation Guide does not explain the issue of license keys (.lic files) needed for such a scheme. To install a NOD32 RAS you have to get a license key from your reseller. From another article on this forum I've found out that the license key for a RAS has to include the number of NOD32 clients that connect to that RAS either directly or through replication.

    Suppose that you have a network as shown on the attached illustration and that you have:
    Site 1 with 1000 NOD32 clients
    Site 2 with 500 NOD32 clients
    Site 3 with 400 NOD32 clients
    Site 4 with 300 NOD32 clients
    Site 5 with 200 NOD32 clients
    Site 6 with 100 NOD32 clients
    In total you have 2500 clients in the network and you pay a NOD32 Enterprise Edition license for them.
    But you will need the following license keys:
    RAS 1: lic file for 2500 clients (1000 local clients + RAS 2 + RAS 3)
    RAS 2: lic file for 500 clients
    RAS 3: lic file for 1000 clients (400 local clients + RAS 4 + RAS 5)
    RAS 4: lic file for 300 clients
    RAS 5: lic file for 300 clients (200 local clients + RAS 6)
    RAS 6: lic file for 100 clients

    Is that correct?

    -- rpr. /Robert Premuz/
     

    Attached Files:

  2. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    That's right - each RAS must hold a licence for the total number of clients to appear in it's list whether they are connected directly or via replication.

    Cheers :)
     
  3. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    So, it means that if you add for example 20 NOD32 clients to site 6 in the given network, you have to:
    - pay for additional licenses (increase from 2500 to 2520)
    - for sites 1, 3, 5 and 6 order new lic files for additional clients
    - install new lic files on RA Servers

    Also if you move for example 20 NOD32 clients from site 6 to site 2, you have to:
    - for site 2 order a new lic file for additional clients
    - for sites 3, 5 and 6 order new lic files for decreased number of clients
    - install new lic files on RA Servers

    Moreover, if you reconfigure the RAS replication between sites for some reason, you also have to order new lic files for your RA Servers although the total number of NOD32 clients does not change.

    It seems that your reseller has to know the exact scheme of RAS replication in your network to be able to handle the lic files for your RA Servers. Is that correct?

    -- rpr. /Robert Premuz/
     
  4. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    For the given example, yes. Thats the way the licencing works when we're speaking of replication.

    Of course with RAC on the admin PC you can connect to any of the RAS directly so it's a question of what best serves a clients need.

    Cheers :)
     
  5. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    In this case there be a one .LIC file that set a maximum allowed workstation/server to be protected. This file is applied to every server in your network.

    When u need to protect aditional workstation/servers you order a new license.... and a new .LIC file is send to you.

    In this case you are "moving" ur workstation from site6 to site2 so the total number of protected workstation (on the whole network) don't decrease. There's no need of a new .LIC file.

    .LIC are generated based on:

    total workstation to be protected + total servers.

    There's an Admin Guide (PDF-1.8Mb) u can download.
     
  6. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    My reseller told me that it's illegal to apply the same .lic file to every RAS in the network (when using replication).

    -- rpr. /Robert Premuz/
     
  7. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    There'll be no problem using a single .LIC file for your whole network.

    see this way: 1 .LIC per License (to protect as many workstation/servers in your net)
     
  8. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Indeed using 1 .lic file for the total number of machines to be protected will physically make everything operate correctly.
    I too was under the impression that there should be a seperate .lic file per site, however will be making enquiries via my local distributor to ensure I do understand this correctly.

    Cheers :)
     
  9. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    Take in count despite every site could be physically separated is still considered the same (logical) network. But if some of these sites is in other country...then u should buy the license for it from a reseller in that country.
     
  10. rpremuz

    rpremuz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    100
    Location:
    Croatia
    So, have you checked that at your local distributor?

    -- rpr. /Robert Premuž/
     
  11. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    The answer I got back (thanks Bill) was basically that either way is do-able depending on the individual clients needs. Both ways have thier pros & cons. It seems the main point is that there is the correct number of the correct types of licences issued.

    Cheers :)
     
  12. YeOldeStonecat

    YeOldeStonecat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    2,345
    Location:
    Along the Shorelines somewhere in New England
    Odd logic.
     
  13. xTiNcTion

    xTiNcTion Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2003
    Posts:
    253
    gg :) ... but it's in this way
     
  14. Bandicoot

    Bandicoot Eset Staff

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    California
    It is feasible to set the licensing up either of the aforementioned ways, depending which suits the end user best, but generally it is recommended to create one Enterprise Edition license to cover all clients. It will make life simpler all round. So for the original scenario in this thread, an EE license for 2500 clients would suffice, although you would need the 6 servers covered too, so ideally the license would be for 2506. All sites will use the same license key to run RA.

    Cheers,
    Bandicoot.
     
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks Bandicoot,
    Appreciate hearing from you as well on this, and glad to finally have my understanding of it in order.

    Cheers :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.