NOD32 Icon Hides In Task Bar Sometimes

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by clint7, Mar 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    Why does the NOD32 Icon hide sometimes in the task bar? It should never be inactive so why would it do thiso_O?
     
  2. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    please provid some information
    your OS?
    your EAV version?
     
  3. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Have you set its icon not to hide when inactive? Do you access it so often that there's no chance the system would consider it inactive?
     
  4. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    I have 3.0 and XP Pro. This has just been going on for the last few days I have never seen an anti-virus be in-active unless you turn it off.
     
  5. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    r u using v3.0.642
     
  6. thomas_sz

    thomas_sz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Posts:
    16
    I got this behaviour when I'm impatient while starting my system. Probably not all needed drivers have been loaded.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Here inactive doesn't mean that the program is idle for a long time. It refers to clink on the icon I think, that's how it works with other icons set to auto hide when inactive. If you often open the program window, you should always see its icon.
     
  8. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    Yes Version 6.42 I have never seen another security icon hide.
     
  9. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    I have the same issue.. I think..

    Sometimes the trayicon completely disappears and is nowhere to be found. However, the AV is still active.

    The only solution (which isn't a solution at all) is to log out, then log in again.

    I use XP SP2 fully updated, Amd Athlon X2, M2N32-SLI, NOD32 .642.
     
  10. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK

    Same here, although it has only happened once so far. It doesnt suddenly disappear, it just doesnt appear on boot up
     
  11. recaro

    recaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    Is this behavior by design? if isn't, where is located the icon settings?
     
  12. amax

    amax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    I have suddenly been experiencing the same issues. XP sp 2 system. . If I just open Nod from programs icon doesnt reappear, however Nod states that it is operative. If I kill the equi.exe process in Task Manager and then start Nod from programs icon returns. I referred to an earlier post to Blackspear where it was suggested that checking the registry would correct this sort of behaviour. My registry entries were correct according to the post.
     
  13. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    Sounds like this may be a problem for the experts at Eset.
     
  14. Waterfox

    Waterfox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Posts:
    118
    Location:
    Sweden
    I think it may be as simple as just right klick on task bar, go to "preferences" and uncheck "hide inactive icons".
     
  15. haerdalis

    haerdalis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2006
    Posts:
    74
    When I say disappear, I mean totally.. ie. not just due to normal inactivity hiding.
     
  16. Huwge

    Huwge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Posts:
    405
    Location:
    UK
    Yep, same here
     
  17. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
  18. clint7

    clint7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Posts:
    27
    Location:
    Ky. USA
    I tried that first thing with no sucess
     
  19. amax

    amax Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    Vancouver BC
    Okay, I think Ive fixed it. Uninstall, clean all traces of Nod32 up using RevoUninstaller and then reinstall. Seems to have fixed the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.