NOD32 has been a nightmare

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by Farid Ashabi, Dec 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ngwana

    Ngwana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom
    I suspect you have some clear idea of what you want to do, but these days most security software when uninstalled may require extra cleaning to be completely removed from a system. Symantec has such a tendency leading to conflicts with whatever product is meant to replace it.

    However Symantec is not alone, but I hope you will get help with the errors. Please contact ESET Support and get extra help. :cool:
     
  2. Farid Ashabi

    Farid Ashabi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Posts:
    8
    Hey Ngwana,

    Thanks for reply.
    I understand the issue with un-installing a software...almost all software these days leave a foot print in the registry and symantec is not the only one.........I know my way around registry and will make sure I clean it up.

    It's been three days since I have sent my issue to ESET and no reply yet.

    I'll try "spm" suggestion and try my luck using version 3.x license with 2.7 software.

    If anyone from ESET watching this thread(highly unlikely)...You guys have been bunch of naughty people...Santa will not bring you any Christmas gift :thumbd:

    Cheers
     
  3. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland

    Your license allows you to use either 2.7 or 3.
     
  4. ChrisBUK

    ChrisBUK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2007
    Posts:
    86
    Same here - no problems on my parent's PC running NOD32 v3 with O.E. :thumb:
     
  5. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    Like the old saying If its not broken dont fix it v 2.7 a Dream
     
  6. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK

    No problems here either:thumb:
     
  7. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    LOL try sending a read receipt then when asked by a client . ;)
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    Please read my reply in the stick thread - this is not a bug but a limitation of OE. However, we are attempting to circumvent these limitations somehow.
     
  9. Bio-Hazard

    Bio-Hazard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Posts:
    529
    Location:
    Cornwall, UK

    Ok i will try that feature when i can. I dont use it myself but in to be fair i will try it.:D
     
  10. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    I just did and thank you for the information Marcos.
     
  11. NodboN

    NodboN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Posts:
    139
    Hi Farid!!!
    :eek: That would be like jumping from the frying-pan . . . . . into the fire. :D
    A better option would be to try out the NOD32 V2 :thumb:
     
    Last edited: Dec 23, 2007
  12. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    I agree with the above statement.recomend to try v2.7 works great and light
     
  13. Ngwana

    Ngwana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Posts:
    156
    Location:
    Glasgow, United Kingdom

    Welcome...I have tried to 'roll my head' concerning the lock-ups, memory errors, kernel errors amd the Outlook 2003 permission error you indicated. None of them make sense especially if the same thing happens in 15 PC's. There must be a 'common' problem.

    However the change log for the latest release 3.0.621.0 includes reduction of conflicts with other apps and you may try it as well. Hope things will improve. o_O
     
  14. ChicknDip

    ChicknDip Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Posts:
    59
    Don't call them bugs. With Eset NOD32 these are called 'limitations' ! ;)
     
  15. toasale

    toasale Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    86
    Location:
    Alabama
    I've got two units with one using ESS and the other the AV only and both are magnificent - zilch problems!

    Dell Latitudes D620 (XP Pro) XT (Vista Ultimate)


    :D :) :cool: :thumb:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.