NOD32 For A Newbie

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Shaker, Sep 25, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shaker

Shaker Registered Member

Hi. I am fairly new to Wilders. I have been posting some in the Other Antivirus Forum. I am a Panda Platinum 7 user. My OS is XP Home/SP2.

I've also been reading a lot here in the NOD32 forum. It seems to get quite volitile sometimes. There seems to be a love/hate relationship. LOL.

I'm not really thinking of changing AV's at the moment, but I do have a question. How is NOD32 to a newbie NOD32 user? By that I mean, how easy is it to set up? With Panda, it's pretty straight forward. Not much thinking is involved. LOL. Would I need a degree in AV Tech to properly set up NOD32?

That's all the questions I have for now. Thank you. :)

2. nod32_9

nod32_9 Guest

NOD's default configuration is just so so. I agree that's there's not much tweaking with Panda, NAV, and McAfee. Panda is free right now, so it would be at the top of my "paid" AV. I've seen McAfee advertised for less than $10. This would be my second choice if there exist a conflict between Panda and your PC.

3. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I installed nod today and had it configured in ten minutes. It does have a few settings but it is not to bad on configuration settings.

bigc

4. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

5. Blackspear

Blackspear Global Moderator

Out of the box is ok, though we do prefer to tweak things up to maximum, see here for how to do so...

Hope this helps...

Cheers :D

6. rdsu

rdsu Registered Member

I test some AV's, maybe half, and thought that NOD32 is also the best in this area...

What AV or AV's do you think that is better about the configuration?

7. Meltdown

Meltdown Registered Member