NOD32 does not startup with Windows

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by JetSet, Jul 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hello,

    After trying the trial version, I decided to go ahead and purchase the full program.

    I did not fully read the email that I recieved when I got the link to download the program and went ahead and installed it over the Trial version.
    Usually programs detect trial versions and either upgrade or delete it before installing but I recieved no warnings.
    Any way, I now notice when I reboot that NOD32 does not autmatically startup with Windows. I need to go into Programs and manually start the program there.

    So, I decided to uninstall NOD32 and then reinstall it to see if this made a difference. Unfortuanately it did not and now every time I start my computer I have to manually start the program.
    Is this normal for it not to start up by itself ?

    Or is there somthing left over from the Trial version in the Windows registry that needs to be deleted.

    Thanks ahead, for your help.
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello Jetset.

    Welcome to the forums.

    Try uninstalling NOD and restart. Go to Program files and delete the Eset folder. Now reinstall with the purchased program and restart your computer.
     
  3. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Thank you so much for having me.

    I got tired of Norton's AV robbing my computer's resources and after much research I decided to go with NOD32.

    I have previously uninstalled NOD32 but did not delete the original folder.

    I will try your advice and let you know the results.

    Thanks again.
     
  4. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I have another question.

    Doing an unistall will that completely remove all remanants of NOD32 ?

    Do I need to go into the Windows registry to clean up any left over entries ?
     
  5. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No need to touch the registry , NOD32 will automatically delete what it is necessary .

    Here is the procedure (what Ron suggests) in details :

    1) Download a fresh copy of NOD32 for your correct operating system
    Trial version Full paid version

    2) Goto Control Panel-> Add/Remove programs and Uninstall NOD32

    3) Reboot

    4) Goto C:\Program files and manually delete the folder ESET

    5) Install NOD32 from the file you just downloaded in step 1
    Use Typical settings

    6) Make sure you have stable i-net connection and NOD32 (nodkrn.exe) is allowed to go through your firewall and Update NOD

    7) Configure NOD32 as shown here

    8 ) Test with Eicar.com test files

    Enjoy !
     
  6. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I will follow your instructions to the "T", when I get home this evening.

    Many thanks.
     
  7. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Hi Techboy,

    I followed your instructions exactly and carried them out twice and still Nod32 does not start up with Windows.


    Any other ideas that I can try ?
     
  8. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Should there be some sort of file in the Windows startup folder ?
     
  9. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,755
    Location:
    Texas
    JetSet

    Can you list your operating system specs, any security programs you have running and your previous antivirus program? The more info, the better.

    This is from the NOD support page.
    http://www.eset.com/support/faq1.php?id=1124
     
  10. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    What previous antivirus was on your system prior to NOD32?

    Cheers :D
     
  11. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I had a trial version of Bit Defender before I installed NOD32.
    I did an uninstall of Bit Defender before installing the Trial Version of NOD32.

    I am running WinXp Pro with Service Pack2
    WebRoot Spy sweeper, Ad Aware Pro and Zone Alarm Pro.
    Zone Alarm Pro, all NOD32 are Fully Trusted.
    2GB of Ram

    I hope someone can lead me the right direction with the info I provided.

    Thanks.
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    And prior to Bit Defender what did you have?

    Cheers :D
     
  13. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Prior to Bit Defender, no other AV. AS as I did a fresh install of my OS.
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I would suggest repairing Winsock, then repair IMON; see post number 40 HERE

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  15. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I ran the Winsock repair and afterwards had to re enter IP address and DNS and Gateway etc for network connection.
    I started NOD32 to configure IMON and the enable box is greyed out along with other setting.

    Any ideas ?

    Thanks
     
  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I have seen this situation before where ZoneAlarm causes an issue with Winsock.

    So does NOD32 now start up automatically?

    If so, please do the following:

    1. Download a fresh copy of NOD32 to your desktop.

    2. Uninstall your current version of NOD32 through the Windows Control Panel> Add or Remove Programs.

    3. Remove the Eset folder from C Drive> Program Files

    4. Install the fresh copy of NOD32 that you downloaded above using "Typical" settings when asked.

    5. Check your settings against those found in the following Nod32 Tutorial: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=37509

    Cheers :D
     
  17. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Sorry, NOD32 does not startup automatically with Windows.

    IMON in the Thread Protection Modules listing in Control Panel is Greyed out .
    AMON,DMON,EMON AND NOD32 are Blue.
     
  18. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I guess at this point of no Internet protection.
     
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Could you please uninstall ZoneAlarm.

    Uninstall and reinstall NOD32 as advised above.

    Run WinsockXPfix again.

    Restart IMON.

    Do not reinstall ZoneAlarm until we resolve this issue (just use your NAT Firewall or Windows XP Firewall)

    Cheers :D
     
  20. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No, you still have AMON running.

    Cheers :D
     
  21. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Ok, I will give that a shot.

    If I do not let you know the out come this evening, I will certainly let you know tomorrow.

    I am in the middle of making dinner, got to keep the wife happy !
     
  22. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, no worries, and if I'm not around due to timezones, then someone else will continue.

    Cheers :D
     
  23. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    Just to let you know that I followed your instructions and redid all of NOD32 settings and ran Winsock repair and still; NOD32 does not load on Windows startup.

    I have not reinstalled Zone Alarm Pro.

    I am tempted to to do a reinstall of Windows XP. Maybe there are Bit Defender remanants in the Registry fouling things up ?
     
  24. JetSet

    JetSet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2006
    Posts:
    18
    I went into Windows Registry and did a search of Bit Defender entries and there was quite a few there. I deleted each Bit Defender entry by doing a search.Rebooted and still it did load on boot up.

    Then I did a Winsock repair, now I am unable to Enable IMON.
    It is greyed out again like last time.
    This is driving me Nuts.
     
  25. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    If you decide to reinstall Windows , you can read a brief description of the process and important things to be done later here

    Also , you can use Windows Firewall instead of ZoneAlarm

    Good luck ! ;)
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 30, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.