NOD32 conflict with Antivir on-demand/solution! SB tip!

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by scottls, Dec 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. scottls

scottls Registered Member

XP SP3 (fully updated), Online Armor v2&3 (both) paid (with or without HIPS enabled/OA shutdown), Spy Sweeper v5.8, SandBoxie v3.32, N32 (anti-virus only).

History, and my soultion-
    1. N32 v667 (v672 too!)- I WAS having problems with my OE6 email "not always (?)" putting the "scanned by N32..." message on the bottom of received/sent email?!!! Msmin.exe was checked as email client in settings...
    a. I contacted N32 support with sys info..., and they suggested trying a clean uninstall & upgrade to N32 v672?
    I uninstall N32/OA, and do a thorough cleanup (I'm a software tech).

b. As soon as go to install v672- It pops up and says "Detects Antivir...?"?
    I double check to be sure that free Antivir is on-demand, and click Ignore. Complete N32 installation, and new settings...

2. Still bad?!- N32 now shows on the OE6 email page, but scanned by N32 msg is still intermittant? (I have not yet reinstalled OA)
    I start "closely" watching Process Explorer ("nifty" free Task Manager...!), and 8min in Antivir is showing BIG cpu activity (put mouse pointer on cpu spike)o_O-
    ALL Email sent/received "after" this activity, always has the N32 msg!?

FIX!- I uninstall Antivir/clean, and ALL email msgs now always have the scanned by N32 msg! :eek:)
    I reinstall Antivir/on-demand, and intermittant N32 email msg problem comes back! I uninstalled Antivir for good!

What free on-demand anti-virus plays nicely with N32?-
    According to latest AV-Comparitives- Antivir is the only free antivirus (no POP3) with a better detection rate than N32o_O
    http://www.av-comparatives.org/seiten/ergebnisse_2008_11.php
    Note: They only rate Antivir as Advanced, because of many FP's?- I have NEVER gotten FP's with their "Standard" scan settings (Advanced yes)!