Nod32 closes after "scanning Memory"

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by CrisCr0ss, May 31, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Everytime i try to run a scan, it says scanning memory, than it closes and it does not scan. Is something wrong

    I have 2.50.19 (latest up-to-date)

    Thanks
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Hi CrisCr0ss, welcome to Wilders.

    Can you please try the following:

    Delete your TEMP files: Open up Internet Explorer

    Click on Tools

    Internet Options

    General TAB

    Temporary Internet Files

    Delete Files

    Delete All Offline Content.



    Restart your system again in “SAFE MODE” by pressing/tapping F8 while booting up your computer.

    Further instructions of placing your system into “SAFE MODE” can be found here as pressing/tapping the F8 key does not always work with some computers.

    While in Safe Mode, click on Start> All Programs> Eset Folder> Nod32 This will start the Control Centre Profile, make sure everything is ticked in “Setup” and then run a “Scan and Clean”.

    If this comes up clean, then please download a FRESH copy of Nod32 from www.nod32.com

    Uninstall your current version.

    Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above.

    Let us know how you go…

    Cheers :D
     
  3. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    "While in Safe Mode, click on Start> All Programs> Eset Folder> Nod32 This will start the Control Centre Profile, make sure everything is ticked in “Setup” and then run a “Scan and Clean”."

    It opens and closes, i dont even have time to read anything it says. I'll try a fresh copy and see how it turns out. I find this is weired because everything works fine except the scanner.

    Note: This computer has been recently formatted.

    :edit:
    I went ahead and did a clean install samething still closes
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2005
  4. Chiana

    Chiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Oz
  5. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    "c:\progra~1\eset\nod32.exe /local /scanmbr-"

    that wrkd..any idea why it wasnt working before?
     
  6. Chiana

    Chiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Oz
    Hi E-Buzz,

    In my case it was a JuztReboot card, specifically the partitioning software that was installed with the card. And if 'Heuristics' is disabled in the Setup Tab in the On Demand Scanner with Boot Sectors ticked, scanning is successful.

    Open the On Demand scanner window, Profiles tab and check which profiles have heuristics and boot scanning ticked. Disable either heuristics or boot scanning and then run the profile.

    Regards

    Chiana
     
  7. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    If you've got to make the choice, it would normally be preferable to leave Heuristics enabled...HTH :)


    Did you also try what Blackspear suggested - did that help also?
     
  8. Chiana

    Chiana Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Posts:
    90
    Location:
    Oz
    Hi NOD32 user,
    So would you recommend leaving heuristics turned on and disable boot sector scanning. Or another option that works is advanced heuristics and boot scanning enabled, heuristics disabled.

    Yes, tried that, no success. Downloaded a fresh copy from the website, installed/reinstalled NOD about 3 times. Here's my original thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=80902 I believe every suggestion possible has been covered. Seems to come down to the way NOD scans the boot sector and the JuztReboot partitioning software.

    Cheers

    Chiana
     
  9. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Definatelty.
    Also, consider adding a regular scheduled scan that checks your MBR, either with a profile configured for the task or by command line :)
     
  10. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Well, i disabled heuristics and enabled advanced heuristics and the scan worked, i believe its a bug with the new Nod32 because i never had this issue before.
     
  11. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    To my knowledge so far, all people who have experienced this issue have had non-standard or encrypted boot sectors.
     
  12. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    what could b encrypting my bootsector?
     
  13. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    good question - theres a lot of applications....And it's only one possibility :)
    The most important thing is that you are protected and can also do a scan if you want to. :)
     
  14. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Is it possible for you to give me an idea, The only piece of software i can think of are is it possible its one of those?

    Winpatrol/Tune-Up 2004/Advanced System Optimizer.
     
  15. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Sorry CrisCr0ss, even all of those are only one consideration - it could also be hardware - a lot of boards now have built in RAID for example, not that RAID is a problem in itself - works fine for me :)
    The main thing is that you have protection. :)
    Don't let it worry you - just when you have the opportunity then go ahead and try out with a clean install perhaps and see what you get from NOD32 then without any other apps installed.
    I'll quote Marcos from a similar thread for you :) -->HERE<--
     
  16. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    true say...but trust me its not hardware because i've had this comp since win98 now running xp pro :p
     
  17. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    How much RAM are you using?
     
  18. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
  19. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    With this issue can you please send an email to support@nod32.com and place a link to this thread. If you do not hear from Eset within 3 days (allows for weekends), please advise us here...

    We would appreciate if you could keep us in the loop with your progress, as we all learn this way…

    Cheers :D
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    This issue will be resolved in the next version of NOD32. A beta (with 32 and 64-bit AMON/IMON) is going to be released shortly.
     
  21. CyberMew

    CyberMew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    Posts:
    128
    Seems it is already out on May 27, 2005 http://www.nod32.com/download/downbeta.htm
     
  22. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    No, it is not the same version, here is the Nod for x64, and it have only a 32 bits IMON. The beta which Marcos talk about will have a 64 bits IMON (and will fix the issue of this topic ;) )

    Regards
     
  23. CrisCr0ss

    CrisCr0ss Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    sorry havent posted in a while, but new version has fixed this.
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,740
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks for the feedback. :)
     
  25. zashita

    zashita Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Posts:
    309
    Thanks to let us to know :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.