Nod32 causing downloads to freeze

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by codylucas16, Apr 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Hi Marcos, I would like to add my voice the the others complaints about the scanning of archives taking too long, but ESET has made several notes about scanning compressed files and its solutions on resolving that problem, so I wont complain too loudly on that.

    What I am concerned about however is that the scanner still went beyond the limits that I have defined in this image below that I have set on all the parameters pages for "Start up scanner", "Real-time file system protection" "Email client protection", "Web access protection", etc.

    threatsense.png

    Is there a reason why the threatsense engine continued on scanning this object 3 minutes longer than it should have with this defined?
     
  2. pondlife152

    pondlife152 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Posts:
    105
    Location:
    UK
    Well I know one AV that has limits set by default, that is McAfee. Other AV's may use this "solution", I don't know. Anyway, as I see it, if the real-time module in NOD is already extracting and scanning archives when they are saved to disk, I don't see the point in having a second module doing the same thing.

    I stand to be corrected, but I think this is part of the problem.... 2 modules doing the same scan.
     
  3. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    +1 concur
     
  4. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, I have had the same problem for ages, FF nor the KB settings help. I tend to ignore it on quad-core CPU boxes and I don't use NOD32 anywhere else, for users the download possibilities are heavily limited via a transparent proxy server so they don't complain about NOD32. Anyway, the bug is definitely there and no suggested solutions help.
     
  5. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    To make sure that you are familiar with the functionality of this setting, I'll quote the help files:

    Maximum scan time for object (sec.)
    Defines the maximum time value for scanning of an object. If a user-defined value has been entered here, the antivirus module will stop scanning an object when that time has elapsed, regardless of whether the scan has finished. This setting is related to archive scanning.


    In distant future, this setting will probably made effective for all files but currently it's not possible for technical reasons.
     
  6. Geosoft

    Geosoft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada
    Which is why I'm a little confused, because technically the engine should have stopped after 30 seconds scanning into that file. Can I assume this means that since the file (I guess by classification) was a "Runtime Packer" and not an "Archive" this is why the scanner continued on scanning the file?

    I'm willing to take this conversation with you offline to a PM so we can discuss further... I really don't want to take part of this "whinyness" that this thread has started to develop into. In the end, I just care about maximizing protection while balancing out on maximizing performance.

    -- Jason
     
  7. davhag64

    davhag64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Posts:
    25
    I have tried Nod a few times witha trial password and always had some kind of issue with it. download problems, false alerts, password not working etc. I could never buy this software at the over priced that it is. My opion is get something else. :thumbd:
     
  8. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    interesting, that flaws bugging users and thus reporting it in order to get them ironed out is considered "whinyness". hope that this is not the stand Eset is taking
     
  9. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    978
    Location:
    UK
    this is the same problem I reported months ago, marcos shrugged it off and its come back to bite eset here.

    The problem can also be repeated with nvidia drivers packages. It pauses my system for many minutes and sometimes causes the download to timeout.
     
  10. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267
    I've noticed NOD32 really going downhill lately. They need to definitely start taking problems and feedback alot more seriously and try advancing their technology much further than simply signatures and heuristics. That may have worked in the past but malware has developed too much and too quickly for that approach to work anymore.
     
  11. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    One can still hope... ...however considering the late silence of Eset in this thread and the first of approach to the problem it may turn out the contrary...

    perhaps they are busy with less whiny users via PM
     
  12. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    huuum.......Windows 7 Ultimate...........an interesting observation. I too was having downloads stall @ 99.9%. Have been a long time user of Zone Alarm Pro, since version 4, but, didn't seem to play nice with Windows 7, downloaded trial of Outpost Pro, clean uninstall of ZAP, on both PC and Laptop..........and guess what? No more stalling downloads. Coincidence?

    The clean install of Windows 7 also leaves a folder called Windows.Old, that was deleted the same time as ZAP. Could be the culprit as well!
     
  13. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    never had any 3rd party firewall installed. also news that a clean install of WIN 7 leaves such a thing as Windows.Old, never been on my system. thence does not solve the matter for me
     
  14. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    If you perform a clean install with a Windows 7 Ultimate CD, over another OS, for eg: XP, you will have a folder left on the new OS called "Windows.Old" The install CD informs you that this will happen.

    Been following this thread since it's "conception"...............doesn't seem like a lot of investigation has been performed. Anyone tried disabling Nod32 and downloading a fair sized fileo_O??
     
  15. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267

    Yes. Disabling Real Time Protection clears the freezing issue. It runs smoothly without it. Unfortunately this defeats the purpose of having an anti-virus anyway.
     
  16. acooldozen

    acooldozen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    221
    Location:
    White Rock, BC, Canada
    Fantastic.........why don't we wait a couple more days and see what Marcos has in store?
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    What file does it happen with? Could you post a link to the file so that I can check what type of file it is and why it takes time to scan it? It'd be normal if the file is a large sfx archive and you have no size limits set for scanning archives or if the file is a complexly runtime packed file which takes time to emulate by advanced heuristics (this should, however, happen only when the file is created and not when subsequently accessed).
     
  18. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    well, then it is not a clean clean install but an upgrade
     
  19. codylucas16

    codylucas16 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Posts:
    267

    Honestly it happens when I download just about anything. I downloaded CCleaner, it froze. Downloaded an ISO, froze. Same with Flash player, a WoW patch and OpenOffice. It seems to happen no matter what I am downloading. Just to clear up this is on Windows 7x64
     
  20. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, worse yet... I'm seeing the issue now w/ simple copying over network. I tried to copy the latest JRE version (1.6.20) to a network share on a server w/ latest NOD32 installed and it made Total Commander freeze completely. :mad:
     
  21. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,441
    I've downloaded it from http://javadl.sun.com/webapps/download/AutoDL?BundleId=39502 (Windows 7/XP/Vista/2000/2003/2008 Offline) and the entire installer with 6 embedded files was scanned in 1-2 seconds.

    Try emptying the windows\temp folder. In theorey, it might slow down decompression if it contains thousands of obsolete temporary files.
     
  22. doktornotor

    doktornotor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Posts:
    2,047
    Well, that folder is almost empty beyond a bunch of Perflib_Perfdata_*.dat files and a couple of logs. 7MiB altogether. Pretty much doubt that's the problem here.
     
  23. rsieff

    rsieff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    Hi All
    I have just built a new image.
    XP Pro 32bit with office 2007
    A few adobe products and poweriso etc.
    Applied all Microsof Updates and service packs

    Install lastest Nod32 and it wont finish the install (it hangs)
    Restart PC Nod32 hangs at startup
    Yes I have unistalled re-install to no avail. (in safe mode)

    Any Ideas?
    Thanks
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    123,459
    Location:
    Texas
    Hello rsieff,

    Any errors show in the XP Event Viewer?
     
  25. rsieff

    rsieff Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Posts:
    2
    G day
    thanks for the quick reply.

    Windows (2052) Windows: The database engine has successfully completed recovery steps.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.

    o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.