NOD32 can't clean msn virus?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by kinson, Nov 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kinson

kinson Registered Member

Hey guys, I work as a computer technician in my local computer shop, and I've been using nod32 for a couple of years now and its my #1 antivirus without a doubt.

I do have a worry though. I use it to clean a lot of my customer's pc's, but one thing I haven't been able to clean with NOD32(v2.7 and v.3) is the msn virus.

I have a sample of the virus, and uploaded it to virustotal here: http://www.virustotal.com/resultado.html?9c355794dc22855e644394cf5bc7e73e

If I scan the file with NOD32, it detects without any problems, but if the pc is already infected with the virus, it doesn't seem to be able to clean it :( Unfortunately, Rising antivirus seems to be able to do the job, but I really don't like Rising.

I've been scanning with in depth scan, is there anything I'm missing?

I can email the file to Eset no problem if needed.

Much thanks for any replies/help.

Cheers,
    Kinson :)

2. zaid786

zaid786 Registered Member

Have you tried scanning in safe mode?

3. kinson

kinson Registered Member

Hrmmm, a little embarassing to say that I haven't...I must be losing my touch :(

But the thing is, I've (taken it out and) scanned the hard disk(as a slave) on another pc with nod32 that is definately not infected, and it still didn't detect :(

4. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Did you have advanced heuristics and runtime packers actually enabled?

5. kinson

kinson Registered Member

Do you mean the options under:

AMON->setup->options->heuristics(checked), and ->additional options on create->runtime packers(checked).

If so, then yeah, they're enabled by default, and I don't change those settings.

I'm reading this off Nod32 v2.7 btw.

cheers,
    Kinson

6. Marcos