NOD32 Antivirus - Blank Browser Screens

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by tecknomage, May 18, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    NOD32 v4.2.40.0
    Sig = 5124 - 20100518

    With WEB Access Protection enabled both IE8 & Firefox display blank screens when loads show Done as of today 5/18/2010!

    Both browsers worked yesterday 5/17/2010. I have NOT changed any settings since this date.

    I had to disable WEB Access Protection to get here.
     
  2. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    I use ESS and I don't have this problem unfortunately.

    But something seems to be wrong indeed since it affects both browser, and disappears when you disbale the Web access protection.
     
  3. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    Just submitted a trouble ticket at ESET.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2010
  4. SweX

    SweX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Posts:
    6,429
    Did what? Yea I saw you said you did:p Otherwise you wouldn't get here.

    I just said that since it really seems to be connected to NOD in some way:D
     
  5. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    Using a proxy? Is this happening to all websites or specific ones? Have you tried enabling or disabling active mode for your browser in the HTTP scanning config? Have you rebooted?
     
  6. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    UPDATE

    Found a fix :doubt: I disabled HTTP Checking (Web Access Protection\HTTP,HTTPS)

    Now the only thing is how does this affect WEB Protection altogether.

    Still waiting reply form ESET on trouble ticket.
     
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    There's something interfering with the web scanner. Without checking a SysInspector we cannot tell what it could be.
     
  8. SmackyTheFrog

    SmackyTheFrog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2007
    Posts:
    767
    Location:
    Lansing, Michigan
    It is the same as disabling web protection. HTTP content will not be inspected.
     
  9. tecknomage

    tecknomage Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2007
    Posts:
    34
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    ESET Support got back to me and suggested I uninstall/reinstall NOD32.

    I had already decided to do this because after trying their first set of suggestions, WEB Protect displayed Not functional o_O

    The uninstall/reinstall fixed ALL problems. Everything back to original functions.
     
  10. nwse

    nwse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    We're having the same problem occasionally (browsers suddenly display blank screens). A couple of computer reboots typically resolves this issue but that's not really much of a solution. Being forced to re-install the software isn't a good solution either. This appears to be a bug that needs to be fixed....
     
  11. nwse

    nwse Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Posts:
    9
    We're still running into this issue pretty frequently. Any solutions out there?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.