NOD32 Antivirus 4.2.71 Added: Support for scanning SSL in Firefox 4?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by vtol, Jan 26, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    it does not work on my setup WIN 7 64bit and FF 4.0b10pre (2011-01-25) 64bit. having NOD SSL scanning enabled leads FF to show an untrusted connection page when opening any SSL site.

    that does not build FF user confidence. nor would it be useful and hardly convenient to add an exception for every SSL site in FF.

    how is that panning out to announce having added the feature mentioned in the title?

    Safari on WIN7 has the same issue. Not to mention, though it has been several times, Google's Chrome browser as well.
     
  2. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Testing it right now, will report back in a few minutes.
     
  3. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
  4. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    any SSL site, incl. that one you posted

    26-01-2011 11-47-41.png
     
  5. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    I'd suggest trying to re-add the root certificate, because it looks like ESET as certificate publisher isn't trusted.
     
  6. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    afik FF is not using the windows 7 root certificate store but its own. and NOD is not adding the Eset certificate to the FF certificate store, at least not in the 64bit version.

    hence wondering what you mean by re-adding?
     
  7. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
  8. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    it does not add it automatically here, on a WIN7 admin account

    26-01-2011 13-19-41.png

    manual import is not working either

    26-01-2011 13-22-19.png

    sure you are using 64bit FF 4.0b10pre (2011-01-25) on WIN7 64bit your end?
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Works here fine, the root certificate was imported properly to FF4 after enabling SSL scanning (FF must be closed).
     
  10. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    as you can see the browser is rejecting even the manual import, easy to assume that the automatic import would not work either.

    even disabled all browser add-ons, no avail though

    you are sure you are not a 32bit beta but the 64bit trunk from yesterday?

    when your developers implemented that fix were they aware that there is 64bit of FF 4 or just looked at the 32bit version?
     
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, see below:
     

    Attached Files:

  12. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    thank you for the effort looking into it. I am at loss why it does not import automatically or manually my end, do not see option to further debug the matter
     
  13. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you confirm that the following procedure does not work for you?
    - close Firefox (make sure it's not running by checking the task manager)
    - disable SSL scanning and click OK to close the setup window
    - enable SSL scanning
    - start Firefox
     
  14. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    affirmative, that procedure does not work my end. also made sure that the separate FF container process was closed.

    at least the manual import should work, but the Eset certificate is being rejected as none authority certificate.
     
  15. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    out of curiosity - how got support for scanning SSL in Firefox 4 fixed? Asked Mozilla developers to accept Eset certificate as authority certificate in the FF certificate store?
     
  16. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Well, a long shot perhaps, but with issues like this I would either reinstall FireFox or ESS (With removal tool) or perhaps both to make sure theyre properly installed.
     
  17. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    did both, first offed NOD and thereafter FF, still not working
     
  18. Woodgiant

    Woodgiant Guest

    Hello vtol.
    Just out of curiosity I downloaded Firefox 4.0b10 on a 64 bit Windows 7 platform. First I got the exact same error message as you did, Eset root certificate isn't trusted. Afterwards I followed the suggestion from Marcos, closed all browsers on my desktop, open Eset and disable SSL, (ran ccleaner). Then I enabled SSL scanning in Eset, and rebooted. Somehow It did the trick. But that was the 32 bit version of Firefox 4.(I suddenly realized) Vtol...I can seem to find the 64 bit version of firefox 4. Could you please give me the link, and I will give it a run.

    Best Regards

    Woodgiant.
     
  19. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
  20. Woodgiant

    Woodgiant Guest

    Hello Vtol
    I followed your link and download d 4.10 pre 64 bit Browser ( firefox-4.0b10pre.en-US.win64-x86_64.installer.exe). I visited some encrypted sites that I often use. I experienced that, when SSL was enabled
    FF could not verify the certificate, and the other way around when SSL was disabled. (I also tried the instructions from Marco, post 13, trying to get it to work)

    My Platform is Windows 64 bit Home premium.
    Browser: firefox-4.0b10pre.en-US.win64-x86_64.installer.exe
    Eset: 4.2.71.2
    Virus Database signature: 5822

    Best Regards

    Woodgiant.
     

    Attached Files:

    • ff3.png
      ff3.png
      File size:
      90.1 KB
      Views:
      4
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 26, 2011
  21. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    thanks for taking your time and checking. Though what you mentioned is not clear to me - did you get the 64bit FF 4 working along with NOD SSL scanning according to Marcos instructions or did you end up the same as me, i.e. not working?
     
  22. Woodgiant

    Woodgiant Guest

    Hello Vtol
    Sorry about not being clear enough, I got the same result as you did.

    Best Regards

    Woodgiant
     
  23. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    thanks! that is quite interesting now and certainly raises or lowers the odds, depending on the perspective. curious about what Eset got to say, unless they maintain - 'it is working our end'
     
  24. vtol

    vtol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Posts:
    774
    Location:
    just around the next corner
    Eset looking into it or not? What are the odds that more than one user of NOD and FF 4 64bit reporting the same symptoms, can hardly be a coincidence?
     
  25. dmaasland

    dmaasland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2010
    Posts:
    468
    Sorry, can't help you from this point on :). Perhaps Marcos has a solution, or else, you could (or anyone with this issue could) try opening a ticket at your local distributor.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.