nod32 and winsocket fix tool.

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by lodore, Nov 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    I am thinking of using my nod32 license soon but i want to know a link to where i can get the winsocket fix tool for windows xp just in case it messes up the winsocket. not that it will be its best to be prepared.
    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  2. betauser2

    betauser2 Guest

  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks
     
  4. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hi ! In case you have Windows XP Service Pack 2 , you don't need Winsockxpfix tool because SP2 of XP can repair the winsock itself

    :thumb:
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    well i do have sp2 so thats cool.

    do i have to put the spaces?
    lodore
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Yes , it is excellent , no additional stuff required :)

    No , no spaces . Type the one in bold , it is the command

    example -> You should type cmd to start the command prompts
    However netsh winsock reset are commands and there is space between them
    netshSPACEwinsockSPACEreset

    :thumb:
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006

    ye i just ment the command and thanks:thumb:
     
  8. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No problems:D
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Well done HiTech_boy, good clear instructions.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    I don't know what to say ... :)
     
  11. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    Thanks? :)
     
  12. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Thanks , BS! ;) :thumb: :thumb:
     
  13. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Wow, no wonder the Winsockxpfix never worked for me. Does this affect any of your installed programs when you use this cmd?

    Thanks HiTech_boy!
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    You are welcome :D
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    No, it removes and replaces the Winsock layer and then repairing IMON replaces the TCP/IP stack.

    HOWEVER, as the saying goes: if it's not broken, don't fix it ;) :blink: :D

    Cheers :D
     
  16. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Blackspear answered perfectly . Shortly , NO .
     
  17. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    @HiTech_boy, Blackspear,

    I lost my winsock more times than I can count and I tried the winsockxpfix and it never worked, now I know why. This has caused much grief and wasted time for me in the past.

    Thank goodness, at least I know of a fix now. It's imprinted in the brain.

    I started backing up the registry, but I discovered when ever I had to restore the registry, I still had to reinstall some security programs.

    This really deserves more than a thanks to you because I now don't have to worry about these headaches anymore.

    Thanks again:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.