Nod32 and Windows Media Player (again)

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by webbasica, May 13, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. webbasica

    webbasica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    A year ago, I posted this for other users having the same problem:

    That was using v2.7 and the extension trick made the issue disappear.
    Today, I installed the v3 of NOD32, and the problem is back. Tried the extensions trick, but this time it didn't solve it.

    I excluded both the windows media player exe and its directory, but still, no solution. It is really annoying, because it doesn't happens everytime, you basically need to keep trying to execute video files.
     
  2. webbasica

    webbasica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Avi files when executed (as you know, with WM as default) seem to go 100% on cpu usage. Maybe thats the problem. Files may be too big.

    I also did some aditional testing.
    I disabled the following options and still no luck:
    analize on open
    analize on execution

    I honestly don't know how to prevent this.
     
  3. kosuke85

    kosuke85 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2008
    Posts:
    1
    I dont know the solution to your problem, I would need more information, but I will say this, it doesn't matter how big the video file is, its the resolution of said video that would affect CPU usage. By what you are saying, sounds like WMP is conflicting with that process in some way. My suggestion? Use a better media player. My media player suggestion? Zoomplayer, Media Player Classic, VLC Media Player, etc. Any one of those players are excellent choices, you have only to choose the proper codecs according to your video playing habits. I would suggest using CCCP. (Google it)
     
  4. webbasica

    webbasica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Posts:
    11
    Thanks for the response. I'm well aware of other multimedia programs, however, I like WMP, so why do I HAVE to choose another?

    Update:
    I installed the comodo firewall just to check the whole process (has a pretty good log system), and what do you know, the thing works now. It seems to be an issue with windows trying to connect to the outside everytime you open a file. Perhaps a conflict with the windows firewall?
     
  5. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    Routers work great and are cheap. Perhaps another option to consider?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.