NOD32 and run as limited user

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Ocky, Sep 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Can NOD32 (and for that matter other real time enabled security s/ware), do its job when running a browser in limited user mode ? I suppose not, but
    hopefully as soon as something nasty manages to bypass limited user mode.

    Kindly enlighten me. :p :)
     
  2. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Well , AMON should be working no matter what mode of your browser you use . IMON will scan everything before it gets to the computer , before it gets to the browser/mail client , so your answer should be yes - for NOD32.

    However , can you enlighten us what exactly are you going to do , not just in general:
    ;)
     
  3. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Hello HiTech_boy. :) Guess what I am asking, being somewhat paranoid
    about stuff like on-line banking, is whether NOD32 runs in Limited User mode
    as it would run in Admin. mode - or will there be resticted access to some
    drivers that NOD32 needs in order to function ?
    So what I am asking is - which is safer, NOD32 and a browser running
    in Limited mode or in Admin. mode ?

    I will appreciate your advice.
     
  4. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    It's been my experience that NOD32 runs fine as a Limited User in XP (including definition updates.) Upgrading the overall version and changing settings still require Admin privileges though...
     
  5. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    NOD32 shouldn't has got problem with your request.:thumb:
     
  6. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    No , NOD doesn't have restricted access except from the fact that the Anti-Stealth technology can't be initilizied . Settings cannot be changes because limited access to some registry keys ... but this is in XP . In Vista it might be different . Even with Admin account , not everything would run with the same Admin rights (in case UAC is ON) . If you use Standart account in Vista (with limited rights) , then the normal things .

    As far as I can remember you use Vista so in my opinion , you'd better run with UAC enabled but with Admin account :thumb:
     
  7. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    I am still running Windows XP SP2. What I often do when going to banking
    sites is to make use of the option 'Run as Limited User' in Sysinternals
    Process Explorer (only for browser). Do you think it would be better from a security point of view to not do this seeing that NOD32 Anti-Stealth can't be started ?

    Thanks for advice. :thumb:
     
  8. mick92z

    mick92z Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    499
    Location:
    Nottingham
    What I do is use DropMyRights for browsing,then you are only browsing as a limited user.All other programmes are still running in Admin mode,including Nod Anti-stealth.
     
  9. Ocky

    Ocky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Posts:
    2,677
    Location:
    George, S.Africa
    Yep, makes sense. It will obviously be the same with Process Explorer as only the browser
    would be running in limited user mode. I am not keen on the rigmarole concerning the creation of all those shortcuts
    with Drop my Rights. Like to keep things neat and simple. :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.