NOD32 and Outpost: compatibility issue

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by A884126, May 16, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    Hi.

    I just bought NOD32 this we and since I am using it I got several BSOD. I do not know if it is related but I did not find any other reason.

    Does anyone experience the same issue?
    If anyone faced it in the past, what is the solution?

    Thanks for your help.

    Peter
     
  2. Habiru

    Habiru Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2004
    Posts:
    43
    Location:
    Fredericton
    Hi I used and tested (2002) Outpost 2 for about a year on a couple of machines and continually had the same problems while using NOD32. Since I bought and paid for both ZA and NOD32 I dropped testing of Outpost since most of what Outpost brought to the table had been integrated into ZA by this time. Most specifically was expert rules. Having the ability to set manual rules is a must.

    There are still some issues with ZA and NOD from time to time. In the summer of 2001, the programs constantly caused issues until ZA fixed the problem. During testing Outpost 2 was conflicting heavily with NOD and since it was not absolutely diagnosed, I could not see any reason for further testing.
     
  3. gunnarj

    gunnarj Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2002
    Posts:
    80
    I run Outpost 2 Pro and Nod32 with no compatibility problems w/ WinME, and have done so for some time.

    regards,

    gunnarj
     
  4. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    No problems over here on XP Pro, W2K, W98. Feel free to be precise in regard to what error messages do pop up :)

    regards.

    paul
     
  5. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Hello A884126

    No compatibility problems here with 98SE and Outpost Firewall. Perhaps you have too many programs starting at the same time and Windows cannot handle too many starting all at once? We know that problem to be possible with 98SE.

    Which operating system are you using? Do you have quite a lot of programs starting at once? Are your BSODs coming at startup or at which other point/event?
     
  6. norky

    norky Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2004
    Posts:
    172
    Location:
    Lithia, FL
    free outpost or the trial of pro?
     
  7. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    Router DLink 614+
    ASUS P4P800 Deluxe (HT enabled - Bios 1016)
    P4 2.4C
    1Go Winbond PC3200 Dual
    Windows XP Pro SP1
    Resident progs: Outpost Pro 2.1.303.4009 (314) / filtnt.sys 2.1.314
    NAV 2003 / SpywareGuard / Wormguard / TDS-3 / Spybot Search & Destroy

    Outpost Pro 2.1.303.4009 (314)

    Random event. Main BSOD message: "driver irql not less or equal"

    FYI I had no concern with Sygate. However I like very much the Webfiltering of Outpost and rules are easier to set up for me, as I am not a real expert in this field.

    Thanks for your kindly help.
     
  8. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Outpost Pro (licensed user) and NOD32 cause BSOD here too. I have tried 2 or 3 diff imon.dll and still same problem. I have just switched to Trend's TMIS and the BSOD is history. I will surely toss TMIS on other pc and NOD32 this baby again if that BS(OD) ever goes away. I have spent countless hours with Eset and Agnitum support and nothing ever fixed it. :doubt:
     
  9. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Perhaps your Norton is clashing with NOD32. Usually it is not wise to run two Anti-virus programs at the same time. Try disabling/shutting down Norton and then see if it helps.

    After having just perused this site it seems like it may be

    1)a Norton/XP issue or
    2)your display card driver may not be up to date or
    3)you may have an IRQ conflict or another possible problem

    You can read the thread and obtain some ideas on what to try but first try our primary idea of shutting Norton down and then trying to see if you get the BSOD.
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2004
  10. qazee

    qazee Guest

    Are you sure the problem is with compatibility between Outpost and Nod32? Many people are having BSOD's on pentium machines with hyper threading. If you do a search for bsod in the outpost forum, you willl find lots of threads relating to having trouble with hyperthreading machines.

    Outpost works great on all of my machines except the one with hyperthreading.
     
  11. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    I don't have Outpost but I do have a PentiumIV with hyperthreading. Agnitum claims that the latest Outpost has fixed the problem with hyperthreading machines so do you have the latest version on your hyperthreading machine?

    I think A884126's problem is NAV running along with NOD32. NAV, of all AV, should not be run with any other AV. You must uninstall NAV properly also. That means use Symantec's tool to clean up as the uninstaller leaves a ton of stuff behind that can really screw up your NOD32.
     
  12. jgswe

    jgswe Guest

    I run Outpost firewall pro and NOD32 right now with no problemos ;)

    But i hate the Outpost popup bug... When settings is on block popups... it blocks diffrent kinds of javascript too..
    And the updates... i have only updated my outpost one time and i have had it in 1 year... i know there are more releases of new verisions per year of outpost but it says that its up-to-date.

    not a big problem..i can live with that but does anyone know a solution?
     
  13. Hatsikidee

    Hatsikidee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Well I do have a problem with Nod32 and ZaPro (latest update version). When I close down the computer and restart it's a matter of who starts first. When this is NOD32, no problems. When Zapro starts first, than NOD comes up: I have a network problem and this will be solved when I restart the computer. When I do, no problems. If I don't, I can't connect to any site or collect my email (The Bat).

    I have two exacly the same computers though the other one hasn't the latest update of ZaPro yet and there is no problem there at all. And Nod is there installed also.

    They are both on a ADSL-modem and wich pc is first to start, that doesn't matter.
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Have you tried using LSP Fix, or sliding back the setting in "Advanced Setup" in IMON, or "Repair"?

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: May 19, 2004
  15. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    See this thread please. Yes I am 100% sure its those two.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=32284

    1 full week and not a peep from that DSOB dubbed BSOD
    :p

    So this could possibly mean that NOD32 + Outpost Pro + Hyper Thread = BSOD.
     
  16. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I must eat my own words as Outpost just BSOD'd yet again. Its history from my pc.
     
  17. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Sorry to hear so. For the record: let's conclude this is not a NOD32 flaw.

    Ermm...you might give Agnitum Support a try - seems only fair, if only to find the culprit and deal with it once and for all.

    regards.

    paul
     
  18. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    I have given up with Agnitum and their "send me dump files" support while all the time blaming NOD and making me think the same. I am just gonna toss that $$ spent in the experience bucket and move along to better software. I will say that I am very happily back at home with NOD32 as my AV (renewing very very soon) and letting another firewall be my outgoing looker. All hail NOD32, the king of AV :D
     
  19. Paul Wilders

    Paul Wilders Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2001
    Posts:
    12,472
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Since you are the paying customer, that's no doubt your perogative - no comment on that one. Personally, I do aim at softwares being compatible in the long run - for the sake of companies involved and first and foremost th software users :)

    Always nice to see a happy camper - NOD32 and all other top notch security softwares included :)

    regards.

    paul
     
  20. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    I am 99% sure it comes from NOD32, because if I install Sygate or Kerio instead of Outpost I do not face this concern. Separately they work fine.

    NAV has been uninstalled.
    I do not undestand the sense of this question as HT option is in the Bios section. Mine Bios version is 1016.

    Maybe it is a combination of these three. What I know it is when they are running separately there is no BSOD.

    Related Threads but still no solution:
    http://outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?p=75679#post75679
    http://outpostfirewall.com/forum/showthread.php?p=75678#post75678
     
  21. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Quote:
    so do you have the latest version on your hyperthreading machine?
    I do not undestand the sense of this question as HT option is in the Bios section. Mine Bios version is 1016.

    Actually I meant that for Qazee, because he said that he was having problems with Outpost Pro only on his hyperthreading XP machine. He didn't say what version of Outpost he was using. Agnitum claims that the latest version fixes the hyperthreading problem.
     
  22. hayc59

    hayc59 Guest

    Mele, hello
    I have been using NOD32 and Outpost together
    for years and have had no conflicts
     
  23. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Turned off HT on mine and same thing, Not a problem. Glad to know that HT disabled didn't make anything slower at all. Just fixed a few glitched with some programs.
     
  24. dom424

    dom424 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Posts:
    41
    Location:
    Enid, OK.
    Using XP Pro with NOD32 and OUtpost Pro here no problems between the two at all. Had problems with Outpost before the 2.1 version but it had nothing to do with NOD.
     
  25. A884126

    A884126 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2004
    Posts:
    191
    CSimbi says that version older version 2.0.240.3122 works well with no BSOD
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.