nod32 and online armor

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by lodore, Oct 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    Hi, im looking for a light setup.

    I have noticed that some people just use nod32, windows firewall and nat device since they are safe surfer.

    I was thinking about using nod32+online armor as a possibility and of course windows firewall+nat device. i may want to add a third party firewall later. comodo could come in there.

    or the same except prevx1 instead of online armor so then i have a outbound protection. but i see that if your pc isn't infected you dont need outbound protection.

    any sergestions to setup's I could use?

    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    u could use NOD32 + OA + Windows Firewall, and when its finished use switch to OA's firewall or when its released use the NOD32 suite.

    i personally prefer outbound protection but its all up to you.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    thanks for the info. I was wondering if they are just doing online armor standard with firewall?


    I really dont know why i forgot about my good experience with nod32 during testing in till that honest opinion post came up.

    I like the fact that if i brought nod32 i would get 3.0 when its released.
     
  4. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    lodore as far as I know Mike`s is going to go with the FW also in the standard version and the AV+.

    edit: I`m running NOD32 and OAFW+Virus with no problems at all.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,036
    oh right because its not a normal anti virus.

    thanks
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,204
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Beetlejuice: doesn't that go against the usual advice re two running scanners?

    or is there some secret to this?
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    OA AV only scans programs on execute iirc. other file types on your disk wont be scanned except when u do a manual scan.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.