nod32 and online armor

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by lodore, Oct 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Hi, im looking for a light setup.

    I have noticed that some people just use nod32, windows firewall and nat device since they are safe surfer.

    I was thinking about using nod32+online armor as a possibility and of course windows firewall+nat device. i may want to add a third party firewall later. comodo could come in there.

    or the same except prevx1 instead of online armor so then i have a outbound protection. but i see that if your pc isn't infected you dont need outbound protection.

    any sergestions to setup's I could use?

    thanks in advance
    lodore
     
  2. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    u could use NOD32 + OA + Windows Firewall, and when its finished use switch to OA's firewall or when its released use the NOD32 suite.

    i personally prefer outbound protection but its all up to you.
     
  3. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks for the info. I was wondering if they are just doing online armor standard with firewall?


    I really dont know why i forgot about my good experience with nod32 during testing in till that honest opinion post came up.

    I like the fact that if i brought nod32 i would get 3.0 when its released.
     
  4. beetlejuice69

    beetlejuice69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Posts:
    780
    lodore as far as I know Mike`s is going to go with the FW also in the standard version and the AV+.

    edit: I`m running NOD32 and OAFW+Virus with no problems at all.
     
  5. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    oh right because its not a normal anti virus.

    thanks
     
  6. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    @Beetlejuice: doesn't that go against the usual advice re two running scanners?

    or is there some secret to this?
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    OA AV only scans programs on execute iirc. other file types on your disk wont be scanned except when u do a manual scan.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.