NOD32 and Norton AV 2007

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by fosl, Aug 28, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fosl

    fosl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Hello,

    I have been using NOD32 since March and am very happy with it. One question though. This computer I bought came with Norton AV 2007 already
    installed. I had all sorts of problems due to Norton. So when I decided to
    install NOD32 I had to download the Norton removal tool to uninstall Norton.
    I ran the uninstall to get rid of Norton and downloaded and installed NOD32.
    I noticed when I open the vista security center and click on Malware,
    it says NOD32 is updated and running. Then I click on show me installed
    anti viruses, and it lists NOD32 as ON and Norton 2007 as OFF. Im wondering
    why its still shows after I uninstalled it. I checked uninstall programs and Norton is not there. I also found a Norton folder and a Symantec folder with
    a bunch of stuff in both. Is it safe just to delete these two folders? And if I do, will security center stop showing Norton?

    Thanks,
    Fosl
     
  2. timh

    timh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2006
    Posts:
    4
    The standard Norton Removal tool does not always uninstall and clean up everything from Symantec. You best bet is get a removal tool from Symantec Support. In the mean time it is safe to delete both folders. You may run into a problem with a few open dlls that were not removed correctly th e first time.
     
  3. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    Hello!

    Yes , as long as Norton is uninstalled , it is safe to delete these files that belong to it.

    Read this post to see what is needed to remove Norton
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1064640&postcount=2

    Re-run the Removal tool of Symantec

    Perform the advise in the link below to do a repair of your Windows Management Instrument which "handles the Security Center status" , let's say it so. It refers to Eset Smart Security (ESS) but it is valid for NOD32 , too.
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showpost.php?p=1064633&postcount=8

    After a reboot , everything should be OK :thumb:
     
  4. fosl

    fosl Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    Thanks for the suggestions. I shall try them.

    Fosl
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.