nod32 and kav?????

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by zfactor, Mar 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zfactor

zfactor Registered Member

i know this topic probably has been beaten to death. but i am new to both. i have tried both trials and really do like different things about both of these.
    with all of the "improvments" eset says they have made when i spoke to them the other day regarding trojans and malware i seem to only see results in this regard if imon is enabledo_O if i disable imon and try to download quite a few various "test" trojans; not the trojan simulator either; it just doesnt seem to really detect that mucho_O? i do have it set to "maxximum protection" as everyone says to do here on the forum.

on the other hand kav detects almost everything i have thrown at it with seeming ease, but it just seems to be a resource hog. i have been told by kaspersky this is in regards to the istreams. can this be disabledo_O i know i can set it to not use it for scanning but will this infact make a large performance difference?? and if so what about the detection rates? will these also go down because of the tagging not being addedo_O

i am ready to purchase one of these but o_Oo_Oo_Oo_Oo_O man they just keep making this decision harder. i know it may be a repeated question but if anyone has some suggestions thanks in advance

2. hollywoodpc

hollywoodpc Registered Member