Nod32 and greenborder

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by rollers, Dec 19, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I have removed greenborder due to slowing problems with it, but now nod wont complete any scans it starts. I suspect the folder left behind from greenborder located in all users, application data/greenborder. I cannot for the life of me delete this folder !( nod crashes every time it tries to scan this) I have tried safe mode and a program that is supposed to delete on reboot to no avail. I am sure if I can get rid of this folder, all my problems will go away. Any other ideas other than a format, as it seems a bit severe to do that as everything else is running well.
    I have contacted greenborder but am still awaiting a reply. There is nothing I could find on their support site for this issue.
    Any suggestions will be greatfully recieved.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please post here the information on installed NOD32 from your NOD32 Control center?
     
  3. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I will do when I get home ( at work at the mo)
    Its the latest 2.7.
    I tried uninstalling and reinstalling today to no avail.
     
  4. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This has been discussed before. When you remove Greenborder it leaves a folder behind in, Documents and Setting, Application data, that you cant delete. It will also kick Nods scan off when started. If you contact Greenborders support, they will send you a zipfile to remove the last Greenborder folder. Then Nod will work fine.
     
  5. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Thanks very much for that...........you have saved me the problem of formatting and getting more grey hairs :D

    It was doing just as you suggested, kicking off the scan. I am sure this will resolve it. I will let you know once greenborder have replied.

    Regards Rollers
     
  6. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    Ok, got the file from greenborder...........................it did absolutely nothing!
    Formatted now..............that'll teach me to try out new programs! Oh well, a lesson learned.
     
  7. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    Marcos, I'm having the same issue as rollers. I was able to delete the GreenBorder files via KillBox, Unlocker and some manual reg editing, but NOD32 still stops scanning. I re-installed GB and tried the fix GreenBorder sent me GBclean.zip, still no joy. Then I un-installed NOD and re-installed it... Here's the info you requested:

    NOD32 antivirus system information
    Virus signature database version: 1934 (20061221)
    Dated: Thursday, December 21, 2006
    Virus signature database build: 8629

    Information on other scanner support parts
    Advanced heuristics module version: 1.043 (20061209)
    Advanced heuristics module build: 1131
    Internet filter version: 1.002 (2004070:cool:
    Internet filter build: 1013
    Archive support module version: 1.050 (20060926)
    Archive support module build version: 1176

    Information about installed components
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Base
    Version: 2.70.16
    NOD32 For Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Internet support
    Version: 2.70.16
    NOD32 for Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista/x64 - Standard component
    Version: 2.70.16

    Operating system information
    Platform: Microsoft Windows XP
    Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2
    Version of common control components: 5.82.2900
    RAM: 1022 MB
    Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.40GHz (2394 MHz)


    ...screamer
     
  8. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    This is not Esets fault, it is Greenborders. I had to reformat my PC due to the file it left behind. I dont blame Eset for someone elses garbage. I would stay as far away from that crappy product Greenborder, as I could if I were any of you.
     
  9. rollers

    rollers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Posts:
    439
    I am afraid that trjam is right...........I have now completed several hours of format and reloading to get back to normal. Oh well, lesson learned.............................until the next time:D
     
  10. screamer

    screamer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Posts:
    921
    Location:
    Big Apple USA
    not blaming Eset..., and I don't think my OP reflected that. Looking for a solution short of a re-install of Win XP.
    Unfortunately, I don't have FD-ISR on this box :(

    ...screamer
     
  11. Siggi

    Siggi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Hi All,

    There was a bug in the script that we where sending out to remove the c:\documents and settings\all users\application data\greenborder folder.

    The fixed script GBCleanup.batcan be dowloaded from our KB:
    https://supportcenteronline.com/ics/support/default.asp?deptID=4049&task=download&folderID=21372

    Please let us know if you have any issues removing the folder. The fixed script will be included in our next release.

    Kind regards,
    Siggi Petursson
    Sr. Manager, QA & Support
     
  12. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    Whew! I almost bought Greenborders, I downloaded the Trial. It wouldn't recognize my HD configuration, I have Raid 0. I am trialing BufferZone instead.
     
  13. Rilla927

    Rilla927 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    1,710
    Can you tell us when the next release will be? Will the fix for Firefox be included? I had to manually go in the registry with instructions at your site but still didn't get it to work right. When you right clicked GB FF was greyed out for unprotected.

    Then I called Tech support and the fellow went in my PC and fixed it. GB does have excellent Tech support.

    Merry Xmas & Happy New Year!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.