NOD32 (6.0.306.3) forgets Window-Layout after reboot

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by simplicissimus, Jan 20, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. simplicissimus

    simplicissimus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    Hola:

    I have installed NOD32 (6.0.306.3) on my netbook.
    When I click on the icon in the systemtray, NOD32 first opens the window in a normal layout. Then I click on the button "maximize" to change the window in the full-screen-view. As long as I do not reboot my netbook, the click on the icon in the systemtray opens NOD32 in the full-screen-mode.
    But after rebooting NOD32 forgets this window-setting. A click on the icon in the systemtray opens NOD32 once again in the normal size and not maximized.

    I have tried the option "Reset window layout", but this was not crowned with success, the problem remains.

    I hope you understand my problem and please excuse my English.
     
  2. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    Same problem here on windows 7X64. GUI is buggy!
     
  3. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    619
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Try adjusting the window size to how you like it, then hold down the shift key and press the reg X in the GUI upper right hand corner. Answer yes to quit, then relaunch NOD32.
    Does it now remember the window position?
     
  4. Motherroad

    Motherroad Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2006
    Posts:
    234
    Location:
    Florida
    Worked for me. Thank You.
     
  5. simplicissimus

    simplicissimus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    Hello,

    This solution does not work for me.
    I have noticed that the following values Placement and LastWindowPosition do not exist in the registry (HKCU\Software\ESET\ESET Security\CurrentVersion\Client\) after a clean install, they are not created (I have tried it several times).
    I have to import them with a reg-file, that I have saved beforehand.
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    It's alright that they are not created after installation. Aren't they created even if you change the position / size of the window and exit gui via right-clicking the X in the right-hand upper corner of the window?
     
  7. simplicissimus

    simplicissimus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    They are not created even if I try your recommended solution (using Windows XP SP3 as administrator).
     
  8. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please repeat the same steps as suggested in my last post while capturing file and registry operations using Process Monitor. When done, compress the log, upload it to a safe location and PM me the download link.
     
  9. simplicissimus

    simplicissimus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Posts:
    12
    Hello,

    I have sent you a PM.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    PM sent.
    I'd appreciate if somebody with the issue could provide a Process Monitor for analysis. Also let me know if you experience the issue always or seldom.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.