Nod32 4.0.437.0 and Remote Administrator Console

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by dvdempire, Aug 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dvdempire

    dvdempire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    I pushed v4.0437.0 to a PC to test it. The install went fine and it is updating, but it is not listed in the remote administrator console v3.1.11. The PC is Vista but I can't imagine that has anything to do with because it showed up before with v3.0.684.
     
  2. Rmuffler

    Rmuffler Former Eset Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Posts:
    995
    Location:
    San Diego, CA USA
    Hello dvdempire,

    The client may be pointing to the wrong server or no server at all. Go into the advanced setup tree by opening ESET NOD32 Antivirus on the client and pressing F5. Go to the Remote Administration section of the advanced setup tree and check the settings.

    Thank you,
    Richard
     
  3. dvdempire

    dvdempire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    Thanks, I had looked there earlier and everything was right and it still didn't connect. After your post I went back and unchecked "Never connect to server with unsecured communication" and now it has shown up in the ERA. The problem now is that it says 15 minutes since last connection, 5 min is the interval I have set.
     
  4. dvdempire

    dvdempire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Posts:
    9
    The only way I can connect to the ERA with a v4 client is to uncheck "never connect to server with unsecured communication." After I uncheck this the client will update with the server, but a few minutes later the box is checked again and stops contacting the server. Any help would be appreciated.
     
  5. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Hello dvdempire,

    If settings are reverting, then you have a policy set up that overwrites the settings you have changed. Locate the option you are changing in the policy and then set it in there to what you want it to be or unmark it so it won't overwrite it.
     
  6. jimwillsher

    jimwillsher Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2009
    Posts:
    668
    We're using 4.0.437 on nearly 100 PCs on 4 different sites, and we're not experiencing this problem.

    I create a config file which includes the name of the ERA server, I include this in a package, and then I push the whole package to the clients. Our "never connect with unsecured" box on the config is ticked, and unchanged from the default. Our clients connect every 5 minutes.

    Console version 3.1.11, on SBS 2003.
     
  7. WayneP

    WayneP Support Specialist

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2009
    Posts:
    339
    Check the Policy Manager on the server. You will see that the setting that reverts back is probably set in there. The clients check in every 5 minutes so after setting it, 5 minutes later it will be reverted back.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.