NOD32 2.7 beta available for testing

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Marcos, Oct 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESET is proud to present a new beta version of NOD32 2.7 that brings full Windows Vista compatibility as well as significant improvements in terms of detection and cleaning of malware.

    New features:
    - full Microsoft Windows Vista 32/64-bit compatibility
    - new Anti-Stealth technology against active rootkits
    - new category for unwanted applications
    - improved cleaning of already infected systems


    THINGS YOU SHOULD KNOW BEFORE YOU START:
    1. users with a different language version of NOD32 installed must uninstall their NOD32, restart the computer and delete the program files/eset/install folder before they continue installing this English beta.

    2. paying users who have already their username and password for update entered in their NOD32 Control Center should leave the "Use current settings check-box ticked" in order to preserve their username and password, otherwise they must be re-entered again in the NOD32 update setup window.


    The beta (Release Candidate) is downloadable from:

    Windows 9x/ME:
    http://u4.eset.com/rc/nd98enst.exe

    Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista (32/64-bit)
    http://u4.eset.com/rc/ndntenst.exe


    Trial users can download the beta with a temporary username and password embedded from

    Windows 9x/ME:
    http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/nd98enst.exe

    Windows NT/2000/XP/2003/Vista (32/64-bit)
    http://u4.eset.com/rc/eval/ndntenst.exe


    Please report any issues found to beta27@eset.com, any positive or negative opinions are welcome in this thread.


    We hope that these improvements will contribute to even better protection of your computers.


    ESET, spol. s r.o.
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2006
  2. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    YES! Got it... :D
     
  3. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    64 bit :thumb: One more item moving me closer to switching to XP64. Thanks Eset. :D
     
  4. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Finaly. Lets grap it :thumb:
    Can it be installed over 2.5, or should i first de install the old version?
     
  5. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
  6. FirePost

    FirePost Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Posts:
    212
    It would seem that one can install over the top.
     
  7. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    thanks Marcos i will have to try that on my old pc soon.
     
  8. SSK

    SSK Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Posts:
    976
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    So far, so good. Did a clean install, memory use looks more or less the same. Full system scan slightly slower / slightly more noticeable on my system.

    Testing continues!
     
  9. Big Apple

    Big Apple Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Posts:
    724
    Installation over the top without any problems. Except, it did not preserve my current username and password, had to enter again, it showed login: beta.etc! Nice new options, so far...so good!
    Another step ahead!
     
  10. Tommy

    Tommy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Posts:
    1,169
    Location:
    Buenos Aires - Munic
    Clean install worked fine, but trayicon won't show up after first start. Will have a look at this later. So far it seams less memory impact and scanning moves faster and with less CPU as 2.5.
    So fra first impression is good.
     
  11. _Rupert_

    _Rupert_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Firstly, massive thanks to the ESET team for working so hard on this excellent product!

    So far, everything seems great!

    I know what I'm about to say is extremely trivial, but I find it quite annoying all the same, and thought perhaps you could correct this with the release of 2.7.

    On the Logs section of the Control Center, I'll compare what you have in the tree on the left to what you get in the right after clicking that item on the tree.

    Event Log --- Event log
    Threat Log --- Threat Log
    NOD32 Scanner Logs --- NOD32 Scanner logs

    Would be so greatful if you could just make the L's capital lol :)
     
  12. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    got it.
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    In Nod32 on demand setup I see the new Adware/Spyware/Riskware ability along with Heueristics and Advanced Hueristics.
     
  14. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Thanks for all the hard work ESET.

    Looking good :)
     
  15. PaulBB

    PaulBB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    708
  16. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  17. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Doing a full scan now. Saw a intersting box on intial setup already checked about checking for software that isnt good. It said something more definitive but I didnt pay attention. Guess BS is needed for tweaking, great job Eset. A beta out of you is like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.:)
     
  18. Triple Helix

    Triple Helix Webroot Product Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    12,012
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Looking real good! I like the new features!!

    Cheers,;)

    TH
     
  19. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    I will give this a test on my pc, even though i don't got a license, but I will take the trial offer and help report any bugs, just because I like this software and all. Great to see it progressing!

    Alphalutra1
     
  20. shek

    shek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Posts:
    342
    Location:
    SE CHINA/NYC USA
    Great job, ESET.

    So far so good.
     
  21. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    is there an admin or local mirror version?
     
  22. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Potentially unsafe software applications is the other new tic.
     
  23. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    ESET has never provided administrator version as beta. I for one do not think an administrator would put any beta on a production server they use. For testing purposes, standard version is enough as the mirror facility has not changed whatsoever.
     
  24. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada

    I meant the local mirror version, not the remote administator tools. I have installed the beta 2.7 over the top of my personal desktop machine, and apart from the username/password changing to beta passwords, I've experienced no problems so far.
     
  25. ctrlaltdelete

    ctrlaltdelete Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    Posts:
    318
    Location:
    NL
    I tried to install on top of a non-english version, did not work :doubt:

    I noticed 1 screen (the AMON part) in the setup process was in the same language as my Windows is (Dutch).o_O

    Made some pictures during install, u can find them here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.