Nod update 1.1776

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Killhippie, Sep 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Killhippie

    Killhippie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Since this update which has an heuristics engine update, if i try to scan my drives Nod starts to scan and then just quits, in scanner logs it says its still cleaning even though it isnt and thats after a reboot! Any ideas?:oops:
     
  2. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    Killhippie, try to make a resintallation of NOD32.
    Uninstall
    Delete ESET folder udner Program Files
    Install NOD32 again. ;)
     
  3. Killhippie

    Killhippie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Thanks for the advice but its just started working again after third reboot and running ccleaner (not registry cleaner part as i dont use reg cleaners) so all is ok cheers :D
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    WRONG order of steps.

    FIRST: Download a fresh copy of NOD32

    2nd: Uninstall your current version of NOD32.

    3rd: Reboot

    4th: Delete the Eset folder found with your C Drive> Program Files

    5th: Install the fresh copy of NOD32 that you downloaded above.

    6th Check your settings against those found HERE

    Cheers :D
     
  5. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    With the current outbreak of Stration I would do the following:

    Please check your settings against those found HERE

    After this run a scan by following these steps:

    1. Click on the NOD32 Control Centre (Green and White split square on the bottom right hand corner of your computers screen).
    2. Click on NOD32.
    3. Click on Run NOD32.
    4. Click on “Scan and Clean”.

    Cheers :D
     
  6. pykko

    pykko Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Posts:
    2,236
    Location:
    Romania...and walking to heaven
    sorry boss. :D :D
     
  7. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    LOL, no worries, but gotta get the download while you are still protected ;) :D

    Cheers :D
     
  8. Killhippie

    Killhippie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Thanks for that I have your settings installed and always have scanned and all is clear, I had used ccleaner rebooted the pc and nod updated after that the problem occured, think it had issues scanning a .dat file so having run ccleaner again and rebooted all was fine and my pc scanned clean :D
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    My pleasure, and good to see all is ok now.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. NOD32 user

    NOD32 user Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2005
    Posts:
    1,766
    Location:
    Australia
    Hi Killhippie,

    After running a registry cleaner it may be necessary to reset your quarantine folder, especially if it was empty - not sure if it is an issue with ccleaner specifically....

    You can find some instructions to check it here.

    Cheers :)
     
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2006
  11. Killhippie

    Killhippie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    26
    Cheers for the heads up, I only use ccleaner for cleaning windows up e.g index.dat files and MRUs etc, I do not use the registry cleaner part of the program, I dont trust reg cleaners on the whole they are generally snake oil. I belive it was a problem caused by ccleaner in the first place, running ccleaner again and a reboot cured the issue. To be sure I reinstalled nod as per instructions and used ccleaner again, the same problem occured yet again so it was a ccleaner issue. First time I have ever had an issue with that program, but theres always a first time for everything. o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.