NOD Not Loading at Startup

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Bizadi, Nov 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I have made all of the extra settings but Nod does not want to load at startup. I can manually start it but I need to understand what is wrong.
     
  2. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Please take the following steps:

    1. Download a fresh copy of NOD32 from HERE

    For help with entering your Username and Password please see HERE

    2. Uninstall your current version.

    3. REBOOT your Computer.

    4. Remove the Eset Folder from C Drive> Program Files.

    5. Install the FRESH copy of Nod32 that you downloaded above using “Typical Settings”.

    6. Check your settings against the following Nod32 Tutorial

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  3. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Really?? Is that absolutely necessary? Can you please explain why?
     
  4. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    This is the solution to your problem that I have offered, and in MOST instances it resolves the situation.

    Cheers :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2006
  5. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    @Bizadi

    If you check MSCONFIG do you have a line with the following:

    nod32kui C:\Program Files\ESET\nod32kui.exe /WAITSERVICE

    I would assume it's just the control center that doesn't start up for you or do you have to manually start the service as well?

    -Cov
     
  6. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    I have that line but it was unchecked. I think that the entire service was not starting. I'm off to reboot...
     
  7. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    @Bizadi

    Yeah, that line starts the Control Center UI. The NOD32 Kernel Service would be under services and should be set to automatic.

    -Cov
     
  8. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Does checking the box for nod32kui set it to automatic? Also, what should I do about this System Configuration Utility window? Thank you, btw.:)
     

    Attached Files:

  9. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    Just go ahead and check the check box. Basically it's saying you made changes using MSCONFIG. No it doesn't set the Service to auto, but you would get an error when the GUI starts if the service isn't running.

    -Cov
     
  10. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    So when I check the box on the System Configuration Utility window I will just be starting in Selective Startup mode from now on, right? And that's probably OK because I noticed other apps that I do not have starting upon startup. Thanks again for the guidance. :thumb:
     
  11. covaro

    covaro Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Posts:
    149
    Location:
    Abingdon, MD, USA
    Yeah it'll run according to what is checked off that way. Usually a good way to get the machine to start faster, and use less RAM @ idle. And you are welcome.

    -Cov
     
  12. nonmirecordo

    nonmirecordo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Location:
    Cambridgeshire, UK
    You may find the free utility

    http://www.sysinternals.com/Utilities/Autoruns.html

    Much more comprehensive for this sort of housekeeping in future. You'll be amazed at just what does start every time you switch on!
     
  13. Bizadi

    Bizadi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2004
    Posts:
    79
    Location:
    Tulalip, Wa.
    Thanks. I will give Sysinternals a shot.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.