NOD froze system at start-up

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by aacm, May 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aacm

    aacm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    NOD32 v 4.0.474 frozen my system in the morning and I have to restarted again and looks went OK, but this is frustrated, before I couldn't even Upgrade to v 4.2 because the same symptom and not even that froze my system in the middle of the installation, so I kept v 4.0.474. Now If I uninstalled and running again never finish and I restarted the system and works fine (looks like) how is possible I don't know. Then I got that problem I explain before.. Any suggestions are appreciated so much..

    Thanks Team..
     
  2. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    check windows event viewer logs for errors or warnings
     
  3. aacm

    aacm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    Well I check and said: about google updated, and ESET in source misuninstalled or something How can I attached the report
     
  4. D. Manley

    D. Manley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Just a thought, running any other real-time protection, MBAM for example? I had some similar problems until I delayed Malwarebytes startup for 2 minutes at boot to let NOD fully load first. I had similar upgrade freezes on NOD32 with MBAM running as well. As I said, just a thought.
     
  5. aacm

    aacm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    OK D. Manley
    I will do that because MAB start first than NOD so I will started manually, because I don't know how to delay start automatically MAB. So I will try that too.

    Thanks DM
     
  6. aacm

    aacm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    Well D. Manley,
    I just did that and Yes NOD32 start without problems and manually I start the MBAM because I don't know how to started automatically 2 minutes behind so I do it manually I guest I would ask the people Of MBAM how to do it..

    thanks..

    AACM:thumb:
     
  7. noway

    noway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Posts:
    351
  8. ThomasC

    ThomasC Former ESET Support Rep

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2008
    Posts:
    209
    Another possible solution would be to set the Automatic startup file check (after user logon) task priority to "When idle". This does not always work but may help to mitigate the start up conflict.

    -Tom
     
  9. aacm

    aacm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    106
    Location:
    USA
    Alright thanks both for your suggestions and Thanks again for the software I will use it and let you know.
    Great suggestion !!!
     
  10. D. Manley

    D. Manley Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Posts:
    5
    Startup Delayer is a nice little program and works well. If you are comfortable editing your registry, you can delay MBAM's startup as posted on the MBAM forums:

    •Click on Start and select "Run"
    •In the Run box type, "regedit" (no quotes) and press "Enter" or click "OK"
    •Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware and click once on the Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware folder to highlight it
    •Right-click in the white space in the right pane and select, "New" and then, select "DWORD Value"
    •Name the value "delayguistart" (no quotes) and then press "Enter"
    •Double-click on the delayguistart entry you just created and click the circle for "Decimal" and enter 60 for the value (for 1 minute delay) -or- 90 (for 1.5 minute delay)
    •Ok out of registry editor.
     
    Last edited: May 14, 2010
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.