NOD freezes PC while trying to render test sites that use the Java Platform.

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by ratchet, Feb 27, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
  2. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    I had absolutely no issues when running the bplspeedtest. I have XP Pro SP2 with IE7 running. I have been to many other websites that have java running and even our Hughes.net satellite has a speed checker that runs entirely in Java. I think it's either a java issue on your part (need upgrade) or it is a Firefox issue. I don't think it's NOD32.
     
  3. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    Suspect NOD since this did not occur prior to v.642.
     
  4. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon

    +1


    I agree. No problems relevant...nod32 website....Java or Firefox issues.


    Updating components programs.



    cumps
     
  5. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,363
    Location:
    Sweden
    Both of the sites mentioned by this thread's author works fine for me. I'm running v. 642.
     
  6. Klaus_1250

    Klaus_1250 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Posts:
    45
    I stopped using NOD because of similar issues, and I remember I wasn't the only one. ekern.exe going to 100% on certain webpages, when trying to download files, scrolling through directories, (re)loading/displaying the desktop, etc.
     
  7. DavidCo

    DavidCo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Posts:
    503
    Location:
    UK
    I am using .642 and both sites worked fine with Opera
     
  8. Darth AkSarBen

    Darth AkSarBen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    109
    Location:
    Near Fennville, MI USA
    Make sure that NOD32 is the ONLY anti virus software running at one time. There cannot be other instances of other AV sofware running as this will cause conflicts. Too many cooks spoil the broth.
     
  9. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    Have some anti-spys but that is it. One by one I disabled Comodo FW, AVG Anti-Spy and Windows Defender. Tested sanboxed (with Sandboxie) and without and also using IE7. With all of those variable combinations those two sites only load immediately with NOD disabled.
     
  10. ratchet

    ratchet Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    1,911
    Just solved this problem. I added Java to exclusion list under system protection. Those pages now load like they always did. I was using Runtime Env 6 Update 4. Am I dangerously vulnerable now? Thank You!
     
  11. nodyforever

    nodyforever Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2007
    Posts:
    549
    Location:
    PT / Lisbon
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.