NOD founds a virus when i use Google !!!!!!!

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by maxqc, Mar 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maxqc

    maxqc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    When I use google to search for this string "ONLINE BACKUP mac" on Google, I get this Virus warning ... And it's only on google.ca ... on google.com the message doesn't shows !!

    Really weird ! :eek:

    Here is the link

    Do you have the same error ??

    http://www.numeriss.com/temp/esetgooglevirus.png
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I don't have this problem...
     
  3. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Strange. I tried the link, but I do not get this problem, either,
     
  4. flyrfan111

    flyrfan111 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,224
    Nothing detected here either with NOD, BOClean or Ewido. All three are silent at the link provided. But then again I have script disabled so that may be the reason.
     
  5. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Nod and kav respectivly and not a peep?

    bigc
     
  6. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Nothing here as well.

    Cheers :D
     
  7. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    nor do i have this problem
     
  8. maxqc

    maxqc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    Looks like my NOD is acting strange ... See my post about OE mails scan.

    I'll try reinstall it
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    The best method would be to download a FRESH copy of Nod32 first, then uninstall Nod.

    Then delete the Eset folder found in C Drive> Program Files

    Then install the FRESH copy.

    Let us know how you go...

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Make sure you're using the most current version 1.1033
     
  11. maxqc

    maxqc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    11

    The latest ( and the one I use ) is 2.12.3 ... what is 1.1033 ??
     
  12. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    It is the latest virus definition update number, found in Control Centre> Update> update> setup.

    Cheers :D
     
  13. maxqc

    maxqc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    11
    I reinstalled NOD and it fixed the problem !!

    thank you
     
  14. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Good news.

    Thanks for keeping us posted.

    Cheers :D
     
  15. Klangfarben

    Klangfarben Guest

    I uninstalled NOD, deleted ESET directory, and did a fresh install of the most recent version of NOD. But I am experiencing the same problem. It seems to me that NOD complains only when I search for certain strings of words. For example, it is OK if I enter 'nod32 virus', but NOD warns me if I enter 'john b. fraleigh'.
     
  16. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    I just replicated the problem and I just reinstalled my NOD32 a couple of days ago. I replicated it by using the above search, single quotes and all, on Google. Hopefully someone at ESET will look into the matter. My definitions were 1.1036.
     
  17. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Could you please send the information about installed NOD32 and a link to this thread to support@eset.com? NOD32 doesn't report anything here. Before you do that, make sure the heuristic sensitivity in the IMON setup is NOT set to DEEP.
     
  18. alglove

    alglove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    904
    Location:
    Houston, Texas, USA
    Out of curiosity, are you running those searches from Google's webpage, or are you searching through the Google Toolbar? Somebody must really not like math books.
     
  19. profhsg

    profhsg Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    Posts:
    145
    Marcos: All the information has been sent to support@eset.com. Setting my IMON AH sensitivity to standard made no difference.

    Alglove: I don't use the Google toolbar. However, the browser I use, Maxthon, has a search bar function which I've set to Google. I used that when I first replicated the problem. On your suggestion I tried searching from Google.com and got the same result, a false positive.
     
  20. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Check the logs for complete URL of detected object and submit that link to ESET.
     
  21. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    My guess is that it's the search function built into your browser. It isn't google itself.
     
  22. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    2,825
    Yeah no prob here as well.

    NOD32 Antivirus System information
    Virus signature database version: 1.1038 (20050326)
    Dated: Saturday, March 26, 2005
    Virus signature database build: 5402
     
  23. sir_carew

    sir_carew Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Posts:
    884
    Location:
    Santiago, Chile
    No problems here too.
    I tested using Firefox and Explorer. I've the heuristic set to Deep.
     
  24. deverett

    deverett Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3
    Location:
    Maine, United States of America
    Well, lets face it: The French are a goofy bunch, even Canadian French.

    D.
     
  25. Klangfarben

    Klangfarben Guest

    The problem is gone only after I updated the database to 1.1039. I have been using Firefox 1.02 without googlebar.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.