nod found virus on nero

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by mata7, Mar 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
  2. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    nero has an option to install the ask.com toolbar formly ask jeaves.
    you can just untick the install ask toolbar during install
    lodore
     
  3. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    That message comes after download complete no when I install Nero
     
  4. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    IT IS false positive. Many AVs treat bundled toolbars as potential adware. It's pretty much normal.
     
  5. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    So what Im suppose to do, disable imon and AMON to be able to download Nero, thas the only way?
     
  6. Seer

    Seer Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Posts:
    1,596
    Location:
    Singidunum
    Hello mata7.

    No, add the package to exclusions (AMON & IMON setup). But don't ask me about Nero, I wouldn't recommend it AT ALL (please see my post #51 here)

    Cheers

    EDIT: When you are finished installing Nero, delete the instance from exclusions. And of course, lok carefully where to exclude the toolbar from the installatioin.
     
  7. zapjb

    zapjb Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Posts:
    3,518
    Location:
    USA - Back in a real State in time for a real Pres
    Imo NOD32 is doing you a solid. :thumb:
     
  8. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    ok guys thanks is down
     
  9. midfingr

    midfingr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2005
    Posts:
    12
    Hi all
    This is more of an observation. I too had a message when trying to install Nero's latest update. That's not a problem as I'd rather be safe than sorry. I found this to be rather funny; when the scheduled scan had completed, the log reported that it deleted the entire download; Nero's ftp can be painfully slow. I applaud NOD32 for doing this and to be honest, no software should bundle third party tools unless you specifically ask for them.

    Thank you for the information.

    p.s. Sorry for the late addition, it wasn't my intention to disrupt the thread.
     
  10. roaringhere

    roaringhere Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2007
    Posts:
    36
    Location:
    On the moon
    If I remember correctly, Nero used to let you download, one with toolbar and one without. Now, they just want you to download one file with toolbar in it. Nero is forcing everyone to download the toolbar thats AD money for them I think.
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Why anyone would use nero after version 5 is beyond me...
     
  12. mata7

    mata7 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Posts:
    635
    Location:
    Mississauga, Canada
    so because you think like that we all should do the same?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.