NOD definitions update pop up

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by Joliet Jake, Jun 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Has this just changed as the pop-up box is more like a speech bubble than the old square box?

    Thanks...

    JJ:cool:
     
  2. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    Re: NOD defenitions update pop up

    I think it's been a bubble for a while - although tbh, I have my NOD32 in silent mode, so I don't see the update information except when I move my mouse over the system tray icon, or if I open the control center and select the appropriate options.
     
  3. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    Honestly, it's changed today, on mine in any case. I just had another pop-up just now and tried to get it with ashampoo magic snap but it disapeared before I could take a shot.:D I'll get it and post it up.


    Thanks...

    JJ:cool:
     
  4. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Looks pretty much the same to me.
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Just updated few minutas ago and it was the same baloon popup message as usual.
     
  6. proactivelover

    proactivelover Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2006
    Posts:
    840
    Location:
    Near Wilders Forums
    it's same i think marco tell us
     
  7. webyourbusiness

    webyourbusiness Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Posts:
    2,640
    Location:
    Throughout the USA and Canada
    did you install anything that has altered your windows gui - or - "skin" ?
     
  8. agoretsky

    agoretsky Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    4,032
    Location:
    California
    Hello,

    Do you normally use NOD32 with the Control Center disabled?

    I believe you will see a different style of message (dialog versus balloon) when NOD32 downloads a signature update depending upon whether or not the NOD32 Control Center (filename: NOD32KUI.EXE) is running.

    Regards,

    Aryeh Goretsky
     
  9. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    ^ Oh yeah that's right, I had a dialog popup once.
     
  10. Nunes

    Nunes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    AMADORA,Portugal
    I have no popup when definitions update althought I have silent mode disabled.

    Does this have to do with updates setup where I have no notification before downloading?
     
  11. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    If you have Win2000/XP and newer, it should popup with a bubble.
    If you enable the notification, it'll just ask you before downloading updates (which is not recommended).
     
  12. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland
    No. I know what the pop up usually looks like as I've had NOD for quite some time now. I'm gonna try and catch a screenshot, I just wish I knew when the updates were to save me sitting here. lol.
     
  13. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    I've just asked that no updates be sent to Scotland for 3 days and they be a random 3 days there after ;) :D Don't turn your head, doh too late, you'll have to wait another 3 days...

    :D :D :D
     
  14. Nunes

    Nunes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Posts:
    103
    Location:
    AMADORA,Portugal
    Now I know why I have no baloon tip I have disabled all kinds with a windows tweak.
     
  15. Jaska

    Jaska Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2004
    Posts:
    98
    I have been missing the update notification too. I checked that I have not disabled the tray balloons from the register. It has been quite a while since I got the notification.

    Jari
     
  16. Joliet Jake

    Joliet Jake Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Posts:
    911
    Location:
    Scotland

    o_O :D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.