Nod cleaning help?

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 2 Forum' started by tobamore, Aug 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tobamore

tobamore Registered Member

Hello, I'm new to this program so please be gentle ;) I bought nod32 2.12 today after reading a lot of good things about it, but I'm already beginning to get a little worried. My problem is that I downloaded an eicar test virus (benign) and ran a scan via nod, this was easily and quickly found, so I then ran 'clean' on the folder containing said file. The result was nod telling me that it can't clean the infiltration, I then promptly navigated to the directory and deleted the file normally. If nod can't even do this, then all the best scanning in the world is pretty useless if it can't delete/treat the threat, am I doing something wrong, or have I bought a turkey?

mtia,

T. (worried ex NAV user)

PS while I'm on this subject, how do I force the context scanner to run 'clean' instead of 'scan' when selected please?

2. sick0

sick0 Registered Member

i think because there is nothing to clean. when an AV "clean" an infected file, it usually means restoring the file to its uninfected state and removing the viral code in it.

eicar cannot be clean because there is nothing to clean, the whole file is the test virii string so you just have to delete it. just my IMO

as to your second question, i was wondering that as well. i hope someone here can help you.

3. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Do a right click scan on a benign file. When the window pops up, make the adjustment.

Attached Files:

4. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

Don't forget the help file included with NOD. Much info in there.

5. blahblah

blahblah Registered Member

yes i wanna know too.......to me the 'clean' and 'scan' options r pretty confusing.....